The Most Epic Night Of My Life..... Ever!

Friday the 5th of May 2024 is a night I shall never forget, this was the most epic night for photography ever, and it saved me going to Iceland lol.

A friend of mine contacted me and asked if I was going out to look for the Aurora as it had been forecast for a great storm that evening, it was really cloudy all day but I told him that I would go but will keep an eye out on the weather, as you know with aurora, it's not always predictable, especially in England.

We headed out around 9.30pm to North Leverton Windmill, one of my favourite places and I knew this was a great dark sky area, despite two power stations being in the vicinity. As we got there, the moon and stars were shining brightly, still a bit light around 10.20pm, but we stood there with baited breath, my girlfriend went as well and she noticed a bit of green in the sky, we all looked as there were other people there, and thought YES!!!!

As it started, it was mainly just a green sky, still spectacular in all accounts, but around 45 minutes later, it really did kick off!!

Bearing in mind, you can't see the aurora like a camera can, you could still make out the colours etc, it was phenomenal, seeing the aurora dance across the sky is something that I will never forget, I am still buzzing two days later from the experience.


(A tear in space)

Everyone there, other than my girlfriend I'd never bet before, but we all enjoyed that experience, making new friends, and I had a good chat with the guy who lived in the windmill cottage, great bloke and photographer too.

Breathtaking, exciting and also making you feel humble, I do love space stuff.


I thought I saw an angel, I love this fairytale shot, I just wish the window wasn't blown out lol.

This was the most powerful solar storm for over 20 years, classed as a G5 solar storm which is the highest you can get. I have seen the aurora before, the last time was round 24 years ago flyng from Canada back to England, watching them over Greenland and Iceland, I though that was epic, I never thought for once I would see anything as powerful as this in the UK.

Looking at my instagram feed, most of the UK and Europe must have been out photographing the Aurora, I just hope you all like these shots.

On the way back, fuel was low, I was tired and ended up making a wrong turn, we set off home around midnight, but we still did well for time as I realised where we were, I wouldn't have minded but every garage we passed was closed, but thankfully we made it home, tired, humble and happy.

One thing I was so surprised about was just how powerful the storm was, I was only shooting at ISO 800, 10 Sec exposure and around F4 on my 14mm Samyang F/2.8 lens, this was on my Sony A7iii camera.

Thanks for reading this blog, I hope you all have a wonderful week.

Stay humble.

Sort:  

Amazing shots! I see the angel too... :)

Thank you ever so much, something I font think I'll ever experience again.

Hi @darrenflinders,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Nailed it

Thank you, very appreciated.

"Breathtaking, exciting and also making you feel humble", said it all.👏

Superb photographs.👌

Thank you ever so much 😊

Wao! It's really amazing 😍🙌

What an astonishing display, and the crispness of your photographs is excellent

it does look crazy. great photos. we only got some red/purple dancing lights and it was fun, this just look crazy. Can't even imagine how it looked up north.

i think you missed the date at the start of the blog :D

This is spectacular! 🤩🤩
How far up north was this?

Thanks ever so much, this was shot near Retford in Nottinghamshire, I actually went south from where I live, the aurora could also be seen right down in Cornwall.

That is crazy! I'll be beating myself up if it was visible from Roskilde in Denmark, because I didn't even try to see it (I had forgotten about it)

Some really great shots here. Thanks for sharing.

Beautiful shots 🤩🤩🥰

photos are very beautiful, Sam. Your photography has won my heart.

Thank you ever so much for your lovely comments, it means so much to me, thank you 😊

Fantastic captures. A pleasure to look at. Best ones I noticed recently!

Thank you ever so much, really appreciate it 😊

Congratulations @darrenflinders! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 1000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 1500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2024

This is magic! How amazing nature is and how fantastic your photographic eye is. Photos that we have to take a good time to admire. Awesome @darrenflinders friend!

!discovery 40
!BBH

@darrenflinders! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @dimascastillo90. (3/5)

Picsart_24-03-23_16-07-05-756.jpg

This post was curated by the Visual Shots Team
Join to our Discord Channel
Be part of our Curation Trail

DELEGATIONS ARE WELCOME

| 25 HP | 50 HP | 100 HP | 200 HP | 500 HP | 1000 HP |

Nature is humbling and moreso knowing that Man had no hand in this.
It's really amazing! Can you beat those colours? I get to see aurora through your eyes.


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program