You'd be mistaken for this being Cornwall

whiston_7582.jpg

Due to the cost of living crisis here in the UK, I am forced to get out with my camera locally, as people know, this crisis is world wide, but when you have the cost of fuel going up day by day, it's getting more and more expensive to get out.
Not only that, but due to the current climate, my work place has cut hours down, so not only have things gone up, my hours have gone down, so with a heavy heart, there's not gonna be many trips out of the area for at least the near future.

So, today, I had a little walk through my new village of Whiston in Rotherham, South Yorkshire. I don't live in the village, I'm on the outskirts, but I love this little place, always liked it, even from being a kid.

whiston_7591.jpg
(Whiston Brook meanders through the bottom of the valley.)

The village is in a valley, which is quite steep, and it's more akin of walking down towards the harbour at Polperro in Cornwall, than it is to a village in Rotherham.

whiston_7602.jpg

whiston_7606.jpg

I love the architecture around here, there's newish builds as well as old farmhouses etc dating back 100's of years.

One building I really like is the Methodist Church in Whiston, every time I've been passed though, it has been shut, however, I had the chance of going inside it today to see what it was like.

whiston_7581.jpg

It's a very unusual looking Church, as I've not really seen any other with the same stonework as this.

The church was is said to have been built back in 1822 and was built as a small chapel. Around 1865 to 1866 the present building was erected costing £871 (this is a about £40,000 in todays money).
The clock was placed the tower in 1874 and still remains in this configuration to this day.

whiston_7532_edit.jpg

whiston_7553_4_6pmtx.jpg

whiston_7559_edit.jpg

The stained glass window is there to commemorate the fallen soldiers of the great war (World War 1), who attended the church, there's a plaque on the wall regarding a man who lost his life in Ypres at just the age of 24.
The pews have been taken out, and the church just has normal seating, but a lot of the church is original, and I presume the wooden ceiling and beams are part of the original build.
whiston_7567.jpg

Overall, today has been a good day, and I've finally got to go in to this little church, I do love old building especially old churches, I have no idea why as I'm not a very religious person, but I love the architecture.

I do have a holiday coming up in Northumberland, so hoping to get plenty of castles and the like from there, as for my next post, who knows what it will be, but I do hope you enjoy reading all my posts.

Thanks for reading and all the best :-)

Sort:  

Hi @darrenflinders,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!