Mysterious Smile ~ Festivals in Japan

A smile the Mona Lisa would be jealous of.

toyokawa_festival_shrine_girl.jpg

Many local festivals involve parading around a portable shrine called a mikoshi. Usually men do it, but sometimes you see one for kids. At any rate, they will march this portable shrine all over. In some of the festivals, they will also dress up little girls as shrine maidians. This was one of those.


Hi there! David LaSpina is an American photographer and translator lost in Japan, trying to capture the beauty of this country one photo at a time and searching for the perfect haiku.

If this blog post has entertained or helped you, please follow/upvote/reblog. If you want to further support my writing, donations are welcome.

  • BTC: 1Gvrie5FDBNBb6YpGBiaTvA5AyvsP814BN
  • ETH: 0x2Ce5c2b5F3f1a888b50A7bA9002E4F742784dF9c
  • LTC: LUVLvatsFqCubrJAVmCNQaoUdFAdnUCysU
  • BCH: qrzdazep5xfxax0ydppun89cxfts2vup9q4wnfn025
  • Dash: XoGzWrhdgbLKBG5kn4GjWfaJDJ6AWkDiqU
  • Sort:  

    Amazing photo! She is very pretty. She looks shy but happy. I love to watch Japanese Mikoshi. Have you ever tried to carry Mikoshi with guys before? It is an ‘Agaru’ moment I guess!

    I've never done it yet, no. Usually I am taking photos, so I don't get involved. But every year I seem to get more involved with neighborhood things, so I'm sure eventually I will partisipate more in the neighborhood festival. It looks fun, but heavy!

    This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.