Colors of love

in Photography Lovers2 years ago


wwest220327_7789.jpg

Such a vibe

break.png

Man, I love the Holi Festival. It is probably one of the coolest vibes you can experience here in Utah. The whole place is filled with love and music.


wwest220327_7738.jpg

This is the third time we have gone to the Holi Festival and it is amazing every time we go. It is just what we need to recharge.


wwest220327_7742.jpg

It is nice to go and see people outside enjoying their time with friends and family. This whole pandemic has really messed people up mentally, and events like this really help people to get back to some sort of normal.


wwest220327_7750.jpg

I am not sure how "normal" things will be moving forward, but while we were here, it was a nice escape from everything that has been going on around the world lately and just be in the moment.


wwest220327_7759.jpg

The event is held at the Shri Shri Radha Krishna Temple in Spanish Fork, Utah. The location is pretty awesome and is surrounded by mountains. I really like the time of year that this event is held because it is just starting to get warm again and the mountains in the distance still have a lot of snow on them.


wwest220327_7753.jpg

One thing that people always ask me about when I am at this event is how I keep my camera clean. Well, the long story is, there is no way to keep it clean. I have just accepted the fact that my camera will get really dusty and that I will need to spend some time giving it a good cleaning later.


wwest220327_7770.jpg

There were a few times where people threw colors and they hit right on my camera body, but other than that, it wasn't too bad. Luckily my camera and lenses are weatherproof and do a really good job keeping the dust out.


wwest220327_7756.jpg

This little dude was having the time of his life meeting so many people. I couldn't imagine bringing my dogs to something like this. Titus would be covered in colors and it would be impossible to get him clean again. Harley would most likely try and eat all of the dust and get sick.


wwest220327_7772.jpg


wwest220327_7776.jpg

One thing that I really like about this celebration as well is that there are so many people from all different backgrounds that attend. In Utah, there really is no diversity and it is mainly white people, so it is cool to see people from all different backgrounds coming together for these events and creating memories with their friends and loved ones.


wwest220327_7778.jpg

The Holi Festival here in Utah is the largest celebration of Holi in the United States. I can't wait until my wife and I are able to travel the world again because India is going to be one of our first destinations and we would love to go during Holi.


wwest220327_7779.jpg


wwest220327_7782.jpg


wwest220327_7783.jpg

At the top of every hour, they do a color throw, which is basically everyone gathering and facing the stage. Then they do a count down and everyone throws their colors up in the air at the same time.


wwest220327_7794.jpg

I snuck up on the stage during one of the color throws and it was pretty amazing to see how many people were there.


wwest220327_7799.jpg

Later on in the day, I found out that you needed to buy a VIP pass and get a cool wristband to get up on the stage, but I guess since I had a real nice camera, I looked official like I was part of the celebration or something, so no one questioned me going up and getting right behind the announcer as he was counting down.


wwest220327_7800.jpg

After they count down and everyone is throwing their colors, the band starts playing again and everyone starts dancing again and having a great time.


wwest220327_7801.jpg

It was about this point in time that I realized I needed to back up because the people on the stage were throwing colors as well and I was getting covered.


wwest220327_7803.jpg

But at least I was able to get a few really good shots because the dust was too thick to see through.


wwest220327_7808.jpg


wwest220327_7811.jpg

These dancers were getting ready to go out and teach the crowd some cool dance moves.


wwest220327_7812.jpg

The air got so thick with dust after the color throw. I haven't been in the middle of the audience during it and I bet it is pretty awesome. Next year, I am going to have to go and leave my nice camera at home so I can just get in the middle of everything and not have to worry so much about my camera.


wwest220327_7813.jpg


wwest220327_7819.jpg


wwest220327_7820.jpg


wwest220327_7822.jpg


wwest220327_7825.jpg


wwest220327_7827.jpg


wwest220327_7829.jpg


wwest220327_7832.jpg


wwest220327_7835.jpg


wwest220327_7787.jpg


wwest220327_7836.jpg


wwest220327_7838.jpg


wwest220327_7843.jpg


wwest220327_7846.jpg


wwest220327_7848.jpg


wwest220327_7851.jpg

The Holi Festival is an event that my family looks forward to each year and I am glad that we were able to make it this year. It has been a really tough year for us and I am sure you as well. It is nice to have some sort of normalcy for a while. I just hope that it lasts and we don't go backwards with Covid and everything else going on in the world.

Thanks for taking the time to check out my post and look at the pictures. I hope that you enjoyed them. If you are in Utah and haven't been to the Holi Festival, you should really try and make it out there next year. You won't regret it. It is an amazing time.

Sort:  

That is so amazing! It is so nice to see people interacting and celebrating again. The last couple of years have been totally unnatural.
You have made amazing pictures but I think you'll enjoy it more if you go the next time without a camera. I always feel that taking pictures gives me distance from any event and I don't fully experience it (plus the concern for our precious equipment).
Cheers!

I'm from Jordan and my wife from India
I love India , so good

Ya, next time it will be cool to be in the middle of everything and just take it all in. It is cool to be on the outside looking in with my lens, but nothing can beat the feeling of being in the moment.

I always feel that taking pictures gives me distance from any event and I don't fully experience it

i noticed this first on some handball games i was photographing. catching my self that i have no idea what the score was :)

Amazing owo looks like a fun experience!

It was so cool.

@tipu curate 3

That's interesting. We have a similar festival over here but called "The Collor Run" where you basically do a mini marathon of running which ends up with music and lots of colours just like this one. I always said to myself that I should participate one day but however I never did it by now ☹️

We have the Color Run here every year as well. My wife and daughter did it a few years ago and it was so much fun taking photos during the race.

Wow! Amazing pictures, you did a great job! @derangedvisions

untitled.gif

Ugh, amazing! 👏😎🍻 !BEER The only thing I'm missing in this post is some music 😎

I wish I could have included some of the music that they were playing. It was such a good vibe.

Amazing photographs

Thanks

These are incredible! The pure joy in all in attendance has been captured so well! Love this series!

Thanks man. I can't wait for the next big event in this area. It was nice to get out and take some photos again.

The dance of extraordinary colors. Colors add beauty to every frame. Everyone's faces are smiling, I miss smiling faces. photos are great 🌈

Thank you. It really was great to be around so many happy people. It was a nice healing event.

Being with people who give good energy. Being positive is healing.🪄
I believe so much ☺️

untitled.gif

Thank you.. 😻

That is really cool to see that in Utah! I would like to know the history on how , and why they decided to build such a huge temple there.

No idea. But I am sure they have these temples all over the country. I think somewhere in California, they have the second biggest Holi celebration in the US.

What a nice festival. It looks great and amazing, how I wish I was there.

It was a ton of fun. Hopefully you can make it one year.

Hi Wes, amazing documentation of the Holi Festival. You have an amazing eye for detail and to catch the right moment of such a special event. Thanks for this show of colours and happiness :-)

Thanks man, I appreciate the compliments. I am glad you enjoyed the photos.

nice shot. GODBLESS you and your family

Thank you

This is sooo amazing! I suddenly miss this type of festival atmosphere in our city every year. Hopefully we can go back to doing colorful and fun festivals next year 😊

Hopefully you guys can get back to normal and have the color festival again soon.

What a banger post! I'd love to visit such a crazy festival myself one day. Fantastic work buddy!

Thank you. It is one of the events I look forward to each year.

I always enjoy your photos 👍🏻👍🏻

Thank you. I am glad that you liked them. It was a great time.

Beautiful @derangedvisions… what a vibe and experience!
Would have loved to be there.
Stunning photographs 🤩

Thank you. It was so much fun. Can’t wait for next year.

You are welcome 😊
I soooo can imagine 😎🤩

Looks like a fun place to be.
I love your colorful photography from this event, which I have never heard about so thanks for sharing it.

Thank you

Amazing photos! Thanks for sharing!

I am glad you liked them. Thanks for stopping by

Such beautiful sights!
The only time I saw one was in a movie.

The festival seems to be so much fun. We don't have something like this in my place but I would like to participate in one someday.

It is so much fun. Hopefully you can attend a celebration like this one day.

Yeah.. Hopefully!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more


Hey @derangedvisions, here is a little bit of BEER from @seckorama for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that you can use BEER at dCity game to **buy dCity NFT cards** to rule the world.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!


Hey @derangedvisions, here is a little bit of BEER from @janasilver for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.


Hey @derangedvisions, here is a little bit of BEER from @janasilver for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1514.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Wow holi celebration🎉🎊🎉🎊🎉🎊
Colorfull people with DJ 🎧👨‍🎤🎶🎧👨‍🎤🎶🎧👨‍🎤🎶🎧👨‍🎤🎶

Welcome to India

holi festival is amazing i would love to be there and dance freely.

One thing that people always ask me about when I am at this event is how I keep my camera clean.

you probably don't want to have an idea of lens changing 😂

cool photos. supper cool seeing people having fun.

This is really beautiful to see people coming together again after all that's happen and what better way then a Holi Festival amazing photos buddy love them all 👍

I love this because it is creative

It looks awesome, and a very colorful, cheerful and peaceful festival. Great event to attend! We don't have it here in the Netherlands, but if we did ... I would sure try to be there.

Wow, what an experience to have experienced. Belated Happy Holi.

~~~ embed:1510053566190440450?s=20&t=1GLHIOMTo3cuH1n8DT-M4w twitter metadata:QXJ0T2ZUaGVNeXN0aWN8fGh0dHBzOi8vdHdpdHRlci5jb20vQXJ0T2ZUaGVNeXN0aWMvc3RhdHVzLzE1MTAwNTM1NjYxOTA0NDA0NTB8 ~~~


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Wow - this are wonderful pics and I really enjoy the vibes.

Wish you all the best for India which is a lovely travel. I love the south like Kerala and all the beaches.

Really nice shots and a great story.

Greetings from Germany.

!BEER

Thanks
untitled.gif

You shouldn’t upvote your comments.

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment

Thanks man. Everyone was in such a good mood there. It was really great.