Feeding the birds

in Photography Lovers14 days ago


birds-0951.jpg

The birds love my yard now

break.png

I have had so many birds in my yard since I put the bird feeder up and I love it. It is pretty cool to be able to help the birds in my area out with some food.


birds-0934.jpg

Birds like this one probably have a hard time finding food on their own. This one looks like it has a busted beak, so foraging for food out in nature could be pretty tough for it.


birds-0918.jpg

The birds are pretty shy when I go outside to get pictures of them and they usually fly off and hide up in the other trees.


birds-0947.jpg

They usually just chill up in the other trees for a while until I go back inside. If I wait long enough, they might return to the feeder, or at least fly back to the tree that it is hanging on.


birds-0927.jpg


birds-0924.jpg

Birds arent the only thing that are flying near my house. My house is in the flight path for planes going to the Salt Lake City Airport. It is so weird to look up and see planes flying at all hours of the day and think about how many people are up in those things.


birds-0946.jpg

I just made some fresh hummingbird juice and put my hummingbird feeders out. They are supposed to be here in my area now, and I can't wait to see them again. I want to get a few more hummingbird feeders for my backyard as well. Hummingbirds are my favorite and I want to make my yard a sanctuary for them. Hopefully I will have some hummingbird shots in the next few days.

Sort:  

Having bird feeders is great, and it's a great way to bring some ecological diversity to the backyard! And, of course, they do make great photography subjects... aside from serving as superb Kitty TV!

We actually leave our hummingbird feeders up all year now, and we have a few stalwart hummingbirds who stay with us all winter long. I imagine the climate in Salt Lake is a little bit icier in the winter than here in western Washington but we do get our share of frost and snow. During the coldest times, we have a heat lamp rigged next to the hummingbird feeder, which keeps the nectar at least 50° or above.

The bird feeders have attracted so many different types of birds already. Yesterday we saw a woodpecker in our tree. It was cool because I hadn't seen a woodpecker since I was little and my daughter had never seen one before.

Still no hummingbirds yet, but they should be here soon. I would love to be able to see hummingbirds year round here but there are times when we get into the negative temperatures. I would love to live in Washington near Olympic Park. That area is so beautiful.

It is pretty much eye candy around here. We actually live on the Olympic Peninsula; we've got every climate zone and ecosystem from desert to temperate rainforest; from Mediterranean maritime to Alpine, all within a 60-90 minute drive. It's difficult to find a bad view... a feast for nature photographers.

That sounds like it would be such an amazing place to live. Hopefully one day we will be able to move to the PNW.

the voice is spreading!! you should start to see more and more birds, maybe with time they get use to your presence

They are telling all their free about the buffet. It's funny cause a lot of the smaller birds eat at the bird feeders and spill food all over the ground and then the larger birds just walk around eating underneath the feeder.

These young bird still have a lot to learn hahaha

They have truly found their safe space, haven't they. It's wonderful that you've provided these bird feeders for them to feel just at home. I wonder how many more bird species will find their way to your yard by the end of the year?🌺

Hopefully all sorts of new birds come and visit. We recently had a woodpecker. That was pretty exciting.

Bird feeders usually attract too many birds. I have here Oriental Magpie - robin, who comes in regularly to have biscuits. Usually it is more comfortable in my kitchen window.

That is so cool. It has been so fun to see all the different birds.

Yes for sure

Looking at a plane from your house will be very lovely. The view is really nice
I love birds too but I don’t think I can rear them
Is it stressful?