How to tell when your cannabis is ready for harvest

in Photography Loverslast year


weed-2082.jpg

Proper harvest time is crucial

break.png

One thing that a lot of people wonder about when growing their own cannabis is when to harvest. Harvesting too early or too late can drastically change the effects that you are hoping to get from this plant.


weed-8454.jpg

The thing you need to pay close attention to to get the best indicator of your plant being ready for harvest is your trichomes. They are those little alien structures that pop up on the leaves and buds of your cannabis.

Each strain has its own timeframe for flowering and those timeframes can range anywhere between just a few weeks to flower, to several months. One thing I have learned over the time I have been growing is that you do not want to harvest too early because it can possibly ruin your cannabis and essentially make it worthless.


weed-8455.jpg

Over time, the trichomes go from the clear color to a milky white. When the trichomes have turned to a milky white color, that is when the THC is at its most optimum stage.


weed-2098.jpg

The picture above shows trichomes in their optimum range when they are milky, but to me, this type of plant would create too much of a mental high for what I prefer, so I like to wait just a bit longer for more of those trichomes to turn to an amber color. There are differing views on how much of your trichomes should be amber versus milky, but from what I have found it all depends on the effects you want out of your cannabis.


weed-2100-2.jpg

When the trichomes are changing from milky to amber, it is actually the THC in the trichome deteriorating and converting to cannabinol or CBN. A higher CBN content gives the body a more sedating effect which can aid in sleep, pain management and relaxation. A higher CBN content also gives that couch lock effect that some people prefer, but couch lock isn't something that is preferred by everyone.


weed-2100.jpg

One of the best things about growing my own cannabis is being in control of when I harvest so that I get the most desirable effects from my plant. Paying close attention to your trichomes is the best way to get the most out of your plant. Harvesting too early when the trichomes are still clear will not give you the desired effects because the cannabinoids have not fully formed. Harvesting too late will leave you with too many degraded THC trichomes. So finding the perfect balance for what you want out of the plant is crucial. It takes a lot of practice to know when the perfect time is, but the majority of time, it all comes down to preference.


weed-2097.jpg

I hope this post helped you get a bit more information on the proper times to harvest and what to look for.

Sort:  

Looks like the perfect time to harvest, very nice job man!
Those photos are amazing and highlight very well the difference between the different stages of trichome maturation and degradation, very nicely explained too.
I used to prefer just milky, but I've shifted to wanting more amber for the sedative effects.

Thanks homie. I’ve harvested a few batches that didn’t have the right amount of amber trichomes and I really felt a huge difference in the effects. I prefer a nice body high to go along with a smooth head high, and if there aren’t enough amber trichomes, it isn’t as good.

Oh man that's another good post about growing cannabis. I'm sure that is something all people wonder about growing it. It's important to know when to harvest for every plant. Thanks for sharing and guiding us!

Thanks. I am glad some people are getting something out of these posts.

Hell yeah man this is awesome. Been planning to start growing soon so this comes at a great time so I can start learning haha.

Nice. I can't wait to see what you do. If you have questions, just let me know.

Great, those pictures showing the trichomes and buds are beautiful!

You have become a master of cannabis Wes, what fascinating plants you are showing us today, and what an interesting tutorial, due to your care with this medicinal plant, you are very energetic and I am sure that the effects of consuming it are out of this world.

Thanks man. I have been learning a lot over the past couple years.

looks real frosty i see some amber in there to 💪
!WEED

Thanks man. Can't wait to try this one out in a few weeks.

Lol, imagine being a photographer with a macro lens to monitor the time to harvest your buds. What a life! I don't know much about growing cannabis, but these macro shots of these buds look pretty nice man.

It’s pretty awesome being able to get such close shots of these. It’s like looking into an alien world sometimes.

Great write up bro!

Thanks homie

I never grew cannabis as it's sort of illegal in my country but I did read about lots of people being in doubt when it's the right moment to harvest. So thank you for sharing such important details 🙂

No problem. Thanks for stopping by and checking it out. Hopefully your government changes their mind on cannabis soon.

This looks really yummy. Very nice shots!

Thank you for the compliment.

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below

Nice! How did u take them pic, just phone?

Thanks man. I have a really nice camera and lenses. I used my macro lens and extension tubes for majority of these shots.

untitled.gif

Great info. I can't wait to get started on my first try for some next year.

Nice. Can't wait to see what you do with your grow.

100 delicious frostiness

Actually, marijuana is not allowed in my place, but at least I know the information about marijuana posted by you

Hopefully it becomes legal for your guys in Indonesia one day.

Semoga saja sahabatku

Excellent insight !!! Thank you very much for sharing!

Posted using WeedCash Network

@derangedvisions!

@loonatic passed you the virtual joint!
@trayan also passed you a joint!
If you do not want to receive these comments, please reply with !STOP

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @chubb149.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

AWESOME !WEED :)

Thanks

Yes, very helpful. Thanks for your advice, experience and opinion.
I like how those little alien structures look like 😉