More shots from the pet photoshoot

in Photography Lovers3 years ago


wwest211016_3865.jpg

The cat wasn't a fan

break.png

Last night's photoshoot was a ton of fun, but this cat did not have the greatest time. One thing when photographing cats versus photographing dogs is that you need to realize that cats are almost the total opposite in behavior than dogs are.


wwest211016_3878.jpg

The majority of cats do not want to be told what to do or where to go. The owner of the cat kept trying to make the cat do things for pictures, but I had to remind her that cats just want to do their own thing and forcing a cat to do what you want will not result in the type of pictures that you would want.

I just told her to let the cat explore and look around at whatever he wanted and I will just move around while taking the pictures. Overall, the cat pictures are pretty good, but I would have preferred that the cat was in a more comfortable situation and allowed to be himself. I think moving forward, I will have to let the clients know prior to starting the shoot that their pets should be as comfortable as possible and to not really force them out of their comfort zone because they will not get the pictures they want if they do that.


wwest211016_3845.jpg

Dogs on the other hand, well they want attention and will do pretty much anything to get it and it usually ends up in being able to get really good pictures that capture the dog's personality.


wwest211016_3835.jpg

I have some more appointments this next week and I am looking forward to continuing these pet photoshoots because they are a lot more fun than trying to pose people or deal with kids that don't want to behave. With pet photography, I just tell the people to play with their pets or just let them go have fun. So much better than dealing with humans.

Sort:  

I love black cats. I used to have a short-haired one that was the feline version of a pit bull named Chino. I swear he got hit by a car and died and a few weeks later he showed back up all Pet Cemetary style with a glazed over blue eye. It was super trippy. He used to also enjoy the Turbo Lettuce too! hahaha
You got some great shots bro!

Thanks man. I had a black cat with three legs growing up and it was my favorite pet of my childhood. He lived to be like 18 years old.

Dang. 18 is super old for dogs and cats. I had a black lab Max that we put down when he was 18. That's cool you had a black cat with three legs when you were a kid.

Over my years i've learned that if you give a cat a few blinks of your eyes and then ignore them....Then they are your best friend.
Cats are weird.

Nice looking model! 😺