Portraits of war

in Photography Lovers2 years ago



cl4612qes00bn0pmjgdve80eq_portraits-496.jpg
cl46132q100d30xmjdkj3449l_portraits-7.jpg
cl4613hhv00c92nmjef052e1m_portraits-187.jpg
cl4613ug100cm0imjaska0su9_portraits-301.jpg
cl46147bx00bb2amj7uyx05g5_portraits-473.jpg
cl4614k2q00b61kmjanar8wu8_portraits-476.jpg
cl4614w7l00bz1xmj24lmawdn_portraits-487.jpg

I know these aren't real soldiers fighting in a real war, but it is crazy how good their costumes were at the battle reenactment. Everything there added to the realism of this battle.

One of the craziest things to me is that the reenactment was taking place on the same field that thousands of people died during the Civil War. The black and white that I edited these photos with really does a great job at capturing the look at feel of the time that this battle took place.

I can only imagine the fear that so many of these people felt back in 1864, knowing that they were going to be facing off against fellow Americans and there was a really good chance they would not make it through the day. War is a horrible thing and I can't even imagine going to war against my fellow countrymen.


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

Magnificent photos! Undoubtedly each one conveys something and that is the purpose of photography.

It is really scary just thinking about having to face our compatriots.

Excellent job capturing those emblematic moments.

Thank you. Ya, It would have been so hard to be a part of that war.

I think the people shown in the images are wearing Johnny Reb and Billy Yank uniforms to represent both sides.

Absolutely amazing photography to give a look into the past.

They had people with uniforms for both sides. It was a really cool experience and I will be sharing some of the battle soon.

Will wait to see 'em bro. Thanks

These pictures depict a feeling of nostalgia to me..even though I was not born then. But they excellently represented that moment, portraying the times of war.

I can only imagine the fear that so many of these people felt back in 1864, knowing that they were going to be facing off against fellow Americans

Was it the civil war then? If yes, it must have been a horrific one. War itself never brings peace only destoys thel ittle left.

Yes it was a battle from the Civil War. I took these photos a couple years ago when I was photographing for a book.

Yes it was a battle from the Civil War

I see..I guessed right though 😁

The only thing they miss is the smell, the dirt, and the despair! But they have done an impressive job of duplications!!!!

Might be fun....

👍😳🤠😁😋🙏

It's really heart touching to see people wearing their costumes as they are ready to fight and serve for their country. I've only seen them once a few years ago when I went to a parade but it's impossible not to get goosebumps

I dont know why hopefully it doesnt sound weird but i got this feeling and thoughts that these oucs are beautiful. Then i read the other comment, I understand that this is the nostalgic feeling that i have makes me feel like that. I hope there will be no war again in this world

I love how you captured the men of varying ages. It added another depth of realism to it.

I hope you also post these in colour sometime 🤞🏾

You are right, they look so realistic, seems just like a movie o something like that
You did a really good job

Souls of dead soldiers were like "WTF are these blokes doing here? Mocking us or something?"