Timpanogos Cave Hike - Lots of pictures

in Photography Lovers3 years ago


wwest210530_1464.jpg

Photo by me

Such an awesome Hike

break.png

Today I decided to go hiking with my wife, daughter and her boyfriend. It was a much needed excursion to get out of the house and to get out in nature. Timpanoogs Cave is a very popular hike during the summer and it is best to get there early before it gets too hot and crowded.


wwest210530_1374.jpg

Photo by me

The hike up is only 1.5 miles, but it is a pretty steep hike and a great workout. We were only going to do the hike and not the guided tour of the cave because the cave tours are usually sold out if you do not get your tickets in advance.


wwest210530_1376.jpg

Photo by me

Lucky for us, there were four spots left for the 11:15 tour, so I purchased them. The only problem is that it only gave us about an hour to hike all the way up to the top. We have not hiked in a couple years, so I wasn't sure how we would do, especially being on a time crunch to meet the 11:15 tour.


wwest210530_1377.jpg

Photo by me

So we booked it up the side of the mountain as fast as we could, only stopping for breaks when it was necessary. My daughter's lungs aren't what they used to be because of long lasting COVID symptoms, but we were able to get up there within 45 minutes.


wwest210530_1379.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210530_1380.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210530_1381.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210530_1382.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210530_1383.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210530_1384.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210530_1385.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210530_1386.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210530_1387.jpg

Photo by me

I thought these little pillars alongside the trail were funny cause they had sharp rocks mounted on the top of them. I guess there have been too many people fall off of them in the past and get seriously injured or die, so they put these rocks on them to keep people from posing for pictures on them.


wwest210530_1388.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210530_1391.jpg

Photo by me

The views as we climbed just got better and better the higher we hiked up.


wwest210530_1392.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210530_1394.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210530_1395.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210530_1396.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210530_1398.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210530_1400.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210530_1403.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210530_1409.jpg

Photo by me

By the time we got to the top, our butts and calves had had enough. It was good to sit and rest a bit before our tour started. It gave us time to grab a quick snack. During the hike, there is an elevation gain of 1092 feet during that short distance up.


wwest210530_1413.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210530_1414.jpg

Photo by me

Inside the cave, it was a cool 45 degrees. It felt really good after that long hike up.


wwest210530_1427.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210530_1430.jpg

Photo by me

There were so many cool formations inside the cave.


wwest210530_1433.jpg

Photo by me

It is crazy how these formations form over time. They have done a really great job at preserving as many of the formations they could. There are some pretty hefty fines for messing with the formations in the caves and I am glad that they are taking the steps to preserve the beauty of this cave.


wwest210530_1437.jpg

Photo by me

This huge formation is called the "heart of Timpanogos", but it looks a lot like a vagina as well as a heart.


wwest210530_1443.jpg

Photo by me

Along with the massive vagina in the cave, there are a ton of formations that look like dildos hanging from the ceiling. I wanted to ask our tour guide what the flesh colored formations were, but figured it would be innapropriate.


wwest210530_1439.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210530_1444.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210530_1447.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210530_1451.jpg

Photo by me

Once the tour was over and we got outside, we started our trek back down the mountain.


wwest210530_1452.jpg

Photo by me

The way down was still pretty tiring and was a great workout for the tops of the thighs.


wwest210530_1454.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210530_1458.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210530_1460.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210530_1461.jpg

Photo by me

wwest210530_1463.jpg

Photo by me

Overall, it is a pretty great hike. It is a great workout and when we got home, we all needed a nap. We are going to be trying to go out hiking every weekend now that my wife's work schedule is more predictable.

It was nice to get out with the family and spend some time together in nature. So much better than being cooped up in the house in front of the TV or computer screen. Anyways, thanks for taking the time to check out my post. You are awesome!!

Sort:  

Dude, this looks like an awesome hike. Totally a place I want to visit now. I went to some stalagmite caves in Gibraltar once but that was quite the let down. This cave looks way cooler. I got to hang out with some monkeys though.

Ya, this one has some pretty good structures inside of it. I am not a fan of cave diving or any of that crazy shit, but I like the guided tours where there is plenty of space to move around.

Oh what a road! It was definetely worth hiking because the cave is awesome! I always admired caves as I find it spectacular how nature can create these pockets of architecture. Indeed some shapes in the cave looked kinda similar with what some people have down there lol. Good eye! 😂

Ya, it is crazy to think how long it takes for these to form inside the cave. That's why I am glad they are trying to preserve it and give the cave the ability to continue to grow.

Yes, the caves need to be preserved. I remember watching an interview with a scientist who said that during lockdown when caves were closed temperatures shifted and helped the organisms in the cave live better as when they were open the temperatues were so much higher with so many visitors inside. A small detail making a big difference

Wow. That's like a highway for the feet for sure. And those rock dildos. Man. Haven't seen one of those in awhile. Not since South Dakota when I was like, 10.

There was even a rock shaped like a butt plug in there. I wouldn’t be surprised if people sculpted them before they opened the cave for tours. At least that’s what I would do if I found a cave like this.

If I found a cave like that, I grow all my hair out for twenty years then jump out and scare people holding a massive rock dildo.

untitled.gif

Pretty much yeah, except I'd have stuck food in there.

Definitely a unique place to visit. I haven't been in a cave that big, ever!

Along with the massive vagina in the cave, there are a ton of formations that look like dildos hanging from the ceiling. I wanted to ask our tour guide what the flesh colored formations were, but figured it would be innapropriate.

Hehe, the dick-like shapes were even more obvious than the vaginas. Someone like myself, I wouldn't really care what anyone feels about my question, I'd have gone ahead and asked why the heck there are dicks and pussy shapes everywhere, lol.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Lol. There were a lot of them in there.

I'd have gone ahead and asked why the heck there are dicks and pussy shapes everywhere, lol.

Nature knows its thing. 😂😂😂

Lol, am just being honest, my curiosity wouldn't let me be, so then, I'd definitely ask away :)


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Nice photography

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1218.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: