Kidney for sale My first Leica

in Photography Lovers2 months ago

OK Hivers it’s only a Leica D-Lux 7 compact so my body parts are still mostly intact.

IMG_2968.jpeg

So why Leica? The simple answer is Black and White there is something about the internal firmware of Leica cameras that produces amazing B&W contrast, yes if you work at it you can produce something similar in Lightroom or PhotoShop but I’m lazy and don’t really have the eye unlike @scubahead but set up the Leica in high contrast monochrome and a few in camera tweaks and boom. And there is always the famous red dot logo on show.

IMG_2973.jpeg

So Hivers what about the camera. As I said it’s a used D-lux 7 so not the cheapest Leica compact I could find but not in the stratospheric levels of the newer digital M series or some of the old classic film cameras, small side fact the most expensive camera ever sold at auction was a Leica O series film camera at 14.4 million euros.

The D-Lux 7 has only just been discontinued and the one I managed to find was only a year old with some accessory’s, so a lot more modern than my Olympus Pen Mini. Which may sadly be relegated off the street photography top slot.

IMG_2974.jpeg

As cameras go the D-Lux 7 is solid and very well built being part of the collaboration between Leica and Panasonic technically it is a brother to the Panasonic LX-100 II. The cameras have slightly different body and software but the mechanics are the same. Size wise it’s very similar to my much older Olympus Pen Mini.

IMG_2969.jpeg

The D-Lux 7 is true compact with a built in 24-75mm F1.7-2.8 Summilux lens. So covers most street Photography situations. It has a micro 4/3 MOS sensor similar to my Olympus cameras so I’m not a complete sell out on the small camera format.

IMG_2976.jpeg

Time to go out and take some photos once it stops raining one small down side of the D-lux 7 is it’s not weather sealed like my Olympus OMDs so using it in the rain or damp is an issue. So I guess it’s YouTube and how best to set up the camera for monochrome photos.

IMG_2977.jpeg

The big plus after years of navigating the OLympus labyrinth of menus the Leica system is a real breath of fresh air simple and easy to setup

IMG_2978.jpeg

Still raining so here is the first monochrome photo with the Leica straight off the memory card.

L1000457.JPG
ISO250 f2.8 1/100/s

And by was of a bit of contrast the B&W setting on the EPL mini

P2211382.JPG
ISO200 f6.3 1/50s

So Hivers what do you think

Sort:  

Hi @diveratt,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Damn, it's a beautiful camera. I am considering getting another camera, maybe a Fuji cam, but Leica is so aesthetically pleasing.

Yep it’s an amazing camera. And I think it will be a lot more practical for street photography than my OM-D micro 4/3 main cameras. I have not had a play with the Panasonic LX100 that under the skin is the same camera.

Such a good collection of cameras :D

The camera photos are great!