A new day, a new film - First images from SantaColor100

23-01-29_HIVE 6.jpg

Santa Color 100

Last year I took a risk and put some money towards a new film project. An indiegogo fundraiser popped up on my Instagram promising a brand new colour film. It seemed like anyone and everyone that shot film was talking about it. Along with the Double Film Cinema 35mm Project and some new camera announcements the year was shaping up to be exciting.

23-01-29_HIVE 10.jpg

If you've never done an Indiegogo or kickstarter they can be a bit risky. A promise for a product you don't really know will turn out. But, the team behind Santacolor seemed to know what they were doing, were already set up with the right contacts and supply chains, and just needed to fund the project. So I put in my pledge.

23-01-29_HIVE 12.jpg

Almost 6months later my order arrived - 15x 36exp rolls. Of course, by this time it was nearly December so my options for photos was dwindling as the grey skies became more and more frequent, so I haven't shot film as much as I typically would. Because of this, its taken me nearly 3 months to shoot only 2 rolls! But, I finally have them back AND I've been to self-scan them already too.

23-01-29_HIVE 18.jpg

So, what do I think of it?

Well, I am by no means and expert in colour film, let alone self scanning film. In fact, self scanning color film with a digital camera is something extremely challenging and something I absolutely struggle with while preparing my Santa Color 100 negatives.

23-01-29_HIVE 17.jpg

You can see here the start vs end point of this particular negative.

image.png

This project originally excited me due to the renders I was seeing. For the unaware, film is different than digital in the way that the chemicals and coatings, and the density of these layers change the fundamental ways in which the image is captured. For Santa100, the renders I was seeing showed vivid reds and oranges, subdued blues, and purples, and importantly to me, natural greens.

23-01-29_HIVE 15.jpg

This all excited me because it seemed like a recipe for a perfect fall and sunset film stock. For those brilliant red sunsets and those calm fall afternoons. I also hoped it may make winter shooting more enjoyable as colours would hopefuly stick out from the otherwise grey/blue colours.

23-01-29_HIVE 16.jpg

Unfortunately, I was completely wrong about winter. Because of how cyan any blues show up, almost all the winter images were just too blue for my liking. These images here I even had to adjust to remove more blue!

But, luckily my suspicions about sunsets were right! You can see the start of the transition of the sunset over the city here. Unfortunately not the best display, but you can already see how much the purples were captured as the sun started to set.

Getting the right White balance for this film has also proven difficult. You can see the results of two slightly different White balances below. It seems the film either gravitates heavily towards the warm reds of a scene, or it produces a nice grungy effect. This, I quite liked for City street shots I experimented with.

23-01-29_HIVE 8.jpg

23-01-29_HIVE.jpg

23-01-29_HIVE 3.jpg

I'm curious to see how spring time colours are captured on this film. I'm hopeful the fresh greens and blues skies will show up wonderfully, and I think I'll aim to take more mid-day photos. I found these to be the easiest to colour balance and the most predictable images.

Anyways. I hope you liked this little look at Santa100. If you find a roll out in the wild, I suggest taking it and shooting some street or architecture shots with it. It seems to excel at those, especially at golden hour.


image.png

HIVE BANNER.png

Want to see more of my work or support me?
Follow me on HIVE or checkout my work at these links below

Website: wwww.dyptrephotography.ca
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/dyptre/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/dyptre


All images are owned and created by Dyptre www.dyptrephotography.ca

Sort:  

Congratulations @dyptre! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 50 posts.
Your next target is to reach 60 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the February Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the February edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

What a cool post! I'm actually stoked to finally see some film images!!

Thanks guys! It definitely holds a different look to it, and figuring out what shows best on it is always a challenge haha but, now that I have 2 rolls, I have a much better idea of what I should be shooting with this new film

!discovery 50


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

This post was upvoted by the Nature Lovers Community

Congratulations @dyptre! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain And you have been rewarded with the following badge

Post with the most upvotes of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the January PUM Winners
Feedback from the February Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2023 Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!