You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WALKTHROUGH | Editing the Hardest Milkyway Shot I've Created

in Photography Lovers2 years ago

It absolutely makes sense! I also agree. I sometimes feel torn about how much editing should be done in an image. It can surely take away from the feeling, and for you, I feel like it may feel like learning how a magician has done his trick. It ruins the illusions.

The good news is that you CAN see this by just sitting under the stars. When I did this edit I wanted to recreate the image as I felt it should be seen while sitting there, what I could see, and what I wanted to be richer. I was able to see the milkyway that night with my own eyes, and it was reflected partially in the water. I could see the rocks, the stars... everything! But the camera can't do that in one single shot. Its just not powerful enough. Our eyes truly are amazing. Where I made this photo more hyperrealistic is in how bright the sky is. Its wasn't quite this defined - but this is mostly due to light pollution. If you travel far enough from manmade lights the Milkyway truly is this bright!

Here is the image quickly altered to how bright it was to me in person. As you can see, it's mostly the sky that I have added the magic too.

If you'd like to see the Milkyway in person some day, I'd suggest using this Light Pollution Map to find a dark sky area near where you live! I usually find I can see it with my eyes anywhere in the green-black areas.

You've given me great idea though! I'll make another walkthrough on HOW to find the milkyway!

image.png