Ho! Ho! Ho! Christmas Carriage Rides with Santa Claus

On a recent visit to Whitworth Park, there was a fundraising event with a chance to have a 'Carriage Ride with Santa Claus'. All proceeds were going to 'Darley Dale in Bloom,' which is a volunteer led group that works to improve the local environment. The horses and carriage were from the local Red House Stables.

For £5, you could just turn up, no need to book. The lovely white horses were called Bassett and Bertie, and you could tell they were well cared for. They were only out in the park for about two hours, though. I particularly liked their ear warmers!

Children got a present from Santa, and there was a raffle for a big teddy bear.

There used to be a Carriage Museum nearby but has been closed for several years. This carriage is one the owners had left over. I think they do this fundraising event every year.

Not sure where Santa was?! He must have buggered off back to Lapland. He is going to be busy after all .....

Sort:  

He must have buggered off back to Lapland

I was checking Lapland last week and OMG!! I was astonished by seeing the beauty of Santa Claus village. I put it on my wishlist, it is very far but it's a winter wonderland.

These horses look luxurious, I would have jumped on the carrier to take a nice ride 😁

Someone I know took her children to Lapland and loved it. You don't have to be a child to enjoy it though.

Lovely white horses with red hats! Very funny little hats for ears. There should be snow too!

The snow has all gone now, replaced by wet and windy!

Oh! No good! Wet and windy!