Capturing The Pulse Of India And Nepal

in Photography Lovers5 months ago

It's time to show you the rest of the photos I took at the photo exhibition I visited at the beginning of this week. The title of the post is not coincidentally Capturing The Pulse Of India And Nepal. After seeing all the photos, I think it's highly appropriate and that is exactly what the photographer, Botond Nagy did.

20231204_120229a.jpg

Assi Ghat, Varanasi

Assi Ghat is the southernmost ghat in Varanasi. To most visitors to Varanasi, it is known for being a place where long-term foreign students, researchers, and tourists live. With hosting Subah-e-Banaras in the morning, assi ghat provides a spectacular notion of river Ganga. source

Today I'm not going to write about the environmental and health concerns of the river. That is known and you can read about it everywhere. We're here to discuss photography and from that point of view, this photo is a great one. Boats are coming in or going out, while kids are having fun jumping in and out of the water. Simple life and maybe people are not as suspicious when you take a photo of them, as they are in other parts of the world.

20231204_120520a.jpg

Assi Ghat, Varanasi

A different reality, a spiritual one you don't see elsewhere I suppose.

20231204_120352a.jpg

Swaminathan Akhada, Varanasi

What was I saying about simple life and people not being so suspicious? Look at the photo and try to imagine what that scene would look like in a more developed country, on another continent. You would see a fancy gym, with the latest equipment and outfits. There's no need for that, it can be done without it and most likely close to that level, as efficiency is regarded. Photos like these point out the differences we have in the world and makes you think what life really means and how you live it. What I loved about this photo was the golden tone and the dedication of the people. I don't know if they acted for the camera or not, but it's a very good one.

20231204_120452a.jpg

Pashupatinath, Kathmandu

The Pashupatinath Temple is a Hindu temple dedicated to Pashupati, a form of Shiva, and is located in Kathmandu, Nepal near the Bagmati River. This temple was classified as a World Heritage Site in 1979. This "extensive Hindu temple precinct" is a "sprawling collection of temples, ashrams, images and inscriptions raised over the centuries along the banks of the sacred Bagmati river", and is one of seven monument groups in UNESCO's designation of Kathmandu Valley. It is built on an area of 246 hectares (2,460,000 m2) and includes 518 mini-temples and a main pagoda house. source

Last time I told you photos from India dominated the exhibition, but there were photos from Nepal as well.

When I saw this photo, my first thought was, it can easily be an award winning photo. Unfortunately the reflections take away from its value, but even so, it's a brilliant one. Just look at the colors and the happiness on the man's face. These are the people who have very little in life, yet they are happy as they can appreciate the little they have on every level, even on a spiritual one. Finding happiness in life is an art and I'm not referring to money and wealth as those don't guarantee happiness.

20231204_120542a.jpg

Varanasi, India

This was an interesting photo, most likely it's a ritual, but I'm not sure, so if you're from India and know what ritual this is, please let me know. The photographer was lucky to capture the scene. He was at the right spot, to align everything so nicely. The orange shirts go well with the light.

20231204_120604a.jpg

Howrah Flower Market, Koltaka

I was standing in front of this photo, looking at it for 3 minutes, thinking it's brilliant. When I saw this lady, the first thing that came to my mind was that every wrinkle of her skin can tell a story. @dimascastillo90, what do you think? She seems deep in her thoughts and was wondering if she knew the photo was being taken. I would call this photo Life! but I can't explain why. Most likely I see a life full of struggle and hardship.

20231204_120716a.jpg

Varanasi, India

Now this is a heartbreaking photo, no matter how I look at it. For those of you who don't know:

Cattle are considered sacred in Indian religions such as Hinduism, Jainism, Buddhism, as well as in African paganism. In some regions, especially most states of India, the slaughter of cattle is prohibited and their meat may be taboo. source

I understand cattle are considered sacred, but to see this poor animal in that condition, it hurts. The photo obviously reflects reality, but it still hurts.

20231204_120747a.jpg

Varanasi, India

This was another wonderful one, but what you see on my photo is not really great. Trust me, I've tried every trick in the book, but this was the best I could do. The walking lady had a really nice dress color, which fir perfectly in the mix of colors of the street. The mural on the right it's a bonus to the whole scene. A nice coincidence.

20231204_120819a.jpg

Assi Ghat, Varanasi

This photo seems minimalist, but it's a great one. Imagine what are the chances to capture a man with a dog on the right and lower in diagonal a random dog. The photo is nicely aligned as well.

For me, this exhibition was like a trip to a far land, to another culture I know very little about, but one that can offer quite a lot. I'm not sure how happy people are over there, when they see a photographer, but the opportunities to take a lot of interesting photo seems huge.

If you're a newbie, you may want to check out these guides:


presearch

Sort:  

I'm not from India, but the photo with orange clothes those persons are called Pandits (priest) and they are performing an Aarti (worship) they use these types of lamps in India. In Suriname we use a simple dia (made from clay).

You're not from India but you seem to know a lot about the culture. More than me anyway, so thank you for helping me out. Now I know the custom in Suriname too 😀

Our grandparents are from India and they brought a lot of the culture with them. The thing is that we are now more a mix, but some of the religious things that is lost in India is kept safe by us. The same with the Nigerians... things about culture you can't find in Nigeria the maroon still have it here

feeling great to know, people outside the india, aware of custom of India...

The photo in which everyone is holding burning lamps together is called "Aarti" in Hindi language. Meaning, every morning and evening, those who are Hindu by religion worship God. In the photo, the Pandit (who dedicates his entire life to the service of God) is expressing his gratitude for the goodness and good life of the world by lighting lamps in the river Ganga.

I knew someone knows what this photo is about so thank you, I need to research and learn about it. Very interesting.

It’s a very good selection of pictures. I believe the same. Simple life could be healthier, and more developed countries have created different forms to do same things in a more complex and “fancy” way, which is not necessary in order to achieve some goals.

Spirituality and traditions in India are very rich, exquisite for someone who loves that culture. I’ve never been there but it’s one of the places I really want to visit.

It depends on how you look at it. Some believe in simple life and enjoy the benefits, while others would do anything for fame, then when they get it, struggle to find happiness.

You're right, India is a special place and definitely worth visiting.

Have a nice weekend 😊

@tipu curate

Very nice travel and shots

Thank you very much.

Beautiful Indian pictures representing indian tradition

Yes, indeed, the originals are beautiful.

I love this art work been done

I bet you do @mandate and @biyimi and all the accounts you're using to abuse hive.

Yes and I have apologize on hive watchers and I am currently in my appeal state.

I owned @mandate account before which I have explained to them and it has been ironed out. I am currently in my appeal state

That's between you and them, but it doesn't change a thing. You're the same abuser as you were before.

How?
In what way?

In what way? In every way!

Really very professional photography, he is able to take photos of people's activities in India and Nepal.

I think professional is the right word.

Wonderful India picture, well explained.
I also watched the old man's picture for a while, seeing the happiness on his face despite his condition, to me I think in overall it teaches me that

contentment bring real happiness or joy

Well, the explanation was more from photographic point of view as I don't know much about the culture.

Nice one

It was indeed.

Pashupatinath, Kathmandu is my favorite. He seems to be smiling but certainly the eyes are smiling. Assi Ghat, Varanasi is also a great photo. Such an incredible set of photos.

I agree with you on that, there were so many amazing photos. There's the last batch that I'm going to post soon, but wanted to separate them as it's a specific theme that is only common in India as far as I know.

hiee @erikah
'm glad to know that you learn alot about India tradition... come to India, 'm sure you gonna love the traditional and custom of my country.

Hi @gargi. Yes, I'm learning through these photos, quite a lot as I needed to research almost everything.

Lol, thanks for the invitation, one day I'm going to visit the country, but I have to work hard to be able to :)

hello @erikah , 'm gald you learn something about India, india is not such expensive country... you can easily manage your trip to India 😜

The country is cheap I know, but the flight is 😬🤣

😜😜😜

Hi my friend @erikah Sorry for the delay in responding. It has been a very complicated weekend. I think you know my preferences very well, my favorite is "Howrah Flower Market, Koltaka" definitely, It's too emotional and deep 🖤

I also liked it a lot "Varanasi, India" because there is symmetry there, made up of people.

It is a collection of wonderful photographs, just the way I love them. I hope you are well my friend, if I have some time I will publish a post in a few hours.

I send you a hug and a kiss 🤗😘

Now I'm apologizing for replying late. I forgot, honestly. I ope you'll have more time once the holiday season is over :) This will be a busy period, but once it's over, we can focus on creating something new.

Thanks for the nice comment, as always and hugs and kisses to you too 😘🤗

Don't worry about it, dear! we'll have time. This month is also too busy for me, some responses will be delayed although I hope that is not the case. I hope you enjoy and have a good time. Lot of kisses for you 🥰😘😘😘

I like looking at Pandit's photos, I once watched a show on TV about life there.

Yeah, there are documentaries about India and Nepal too, quite many.

I love the first pictures it’s so beautiful.

The skin of the old lady is so well captured!
I know cattle is sacred but that poor cow seemed to struggle to walk it was hard to look at that photo.
India is a place of great contrast I was reading last week a book about "invisible" (disadvantaged) women and how women are at a major disadvantage in countries like India.In Mumbai there are no free toilets for women and in the best case when you find one there are 6 for 8000 women. The book is fascinating and India is discussed a lot in there, it is called Femei invizibile and it is written by Carolina Criado Perez. The photo of the old lady made me think of the stuff I have read in the book about the hard life of women in some places on this Planet.