If You Think You've Seen It All ...

in Photography Lovers24 days ago

There's something I've noticed lately, while writing my art posts and the more I think about it, the more it becomes something I'm going to follow. During these exhibitions I've seen so many different styles from the same artist and have started to appreciate those more, who have artworks of different style.

What you see at an exhibition depends heavily on what period of the artist's life the exhibition covers and where are those artworks coming from. Selling their art is a must if the want to make ends meet, which makes most of the artworks privately owned, so what ends up at the exhibition is what has not been sold yet. This is why I loved this exhibition, because the graphics I saw were collected from private collectors and cover a wide range of the artist's life.

What I'm going to show you today is a bit different from what you've seen from Tamás Vass so far, but just as interesting.

20240429_123755a.jpg

This graphics had no title, so you're free to give one to it. Let's see what you can come up with. Come help me out as I have no idea what title I would give it. Even though it looks a bit rough, it's a very complex one and with deep meaning as well. It reminds me of old books, which had similar graphics. Too bad they don't print such books anymore.

What makes this graphics interesting is that it's dedicated to a doctor (I don't know if he's a medical doctor or not, it doesn't matter), which makes me think it may have been personal, specially made for the gentleman. Or not.

20240429_123805a.jpg

Girls

20240429_123806a.jpg

This was a pretty simple drawing and what was interesting was the face at the bottom, which, in my opinion is out of place, but this makes the drawing more interesting.

Looking at these drawings, graphics made me think of the contrast between the artist's previous works, which were as detailed as graphics can be and these ones, which are as simple as possible. Nothing wrong with that, it's just amazing that the same artist can do both.

20240429_123818a.jpg

The Ode Of Longing

20240429_123819a.jpg

I love this! It has a religious text incorporated. It's not the content of the text that makes me love it, but how the artist combined the text (which is hand written by the way) with the drawing. It's a marvelous idea. I've always loved collages and see this similar to a collage, just maybe more important as it's one piece. That fence in the lower felt corner is really a plus. Lovely.

20240429_123843a.jpg

Intimacy

Looking back, nakedness is common on these graphics and drawings, but the way the artist decided to depict it, is pleasant for the eye, not something offensive.

20240429_123856a.jpg

The Heroes And The Three Graces

If I were to use one word here, that would definitely be simplicity. Just a few lines, but at the right place.

20240429_123950a.jpg

20240429_124007a.jpg

Sighisoara - Old Town With Clock Tower

This is the cherry on the cake for me and I'd be very happy to be the owner of this drawing. For those of you who are not from Romania, Sighisoara is a well known Transylvanian city, with a wonderful medieval city center, which is also a well known tourist destination. This is one of the entrances to the medieval fortress.

The details are unbelievable and trust me, I've been there several times and can tell you, the tower looks exactly like in the drawing. The rest is a bit different, or I'm thinking of a different entrance (although I don't think so). Regardless, look at it as a drawing, there's no way you can't appreciate it. It's mind blowing in my eyes and lucky is the person who owns it.

20240429_124035a.jpg

Sighisoara - Gateway To The Citadel

Just as brilliant as the previous one. Obviously it is a bit different for me, maybe it means more because I know the place, but even without that, the drawing is fantastic.

20240429_124053(0)a.jpg

Sighisoara - Night In The Citadel

I was trying to find a photo with this arcade, which is real by the way. I have one, maybe it's not from the same angle (ok, it's definitely not from the same angle), but I'd like to show you anyway.

IMG_20200613_165418a.jpg

This photo was taken in 2020. It's unfortunate to see the wall of citadel in that stage and I hope today it looks much better.

I hope you can see now how talented Tamás Vass was and how complex his art is.

If you're a newbie, you may want to check out these guides:


presearch

Sort:  

I really liked the Sighisoara drawings. Interesting because so many of Tamás Vass drawings are of groups of people. The first un-named drawing is tough to figure out two of the three panels show conflict. Maybe the last with the women in boxes/cubes is showing people trapped in their lonliness? My title "Breakthough"

I really liked the Sighisoara drawings. Interesting because so many of Tamás Vass drawings are of groups of people.

You're so right and I haven't even thought about that, I just noticed how different this Sighisoara series is.

About the first unnamed drawing, I had the impression it could be about marriage, or couples? I don't know, but what you say makes a lot of sense.

I loved that you brought that photo with your idea about the drawings (the icing on the cake)... 👌

by the way, this cake is spicy.

When I see a painting or a drawing about a location I've been to and have photos about it, I always post them for people to see.

Thanks my friend, have a nice Sunday :)

History, the past and the stranger. That would be the name I would give to the first work of art.

I liked The Ode Of Longing. The incorporation of the text and the artistic elements combine so well. You feel the attraction.

Interesting about Sighisoara - Night In The Citadel. Even though it's not the same angle it moves you. I liked the comparison.

In general art has its forms. That's what I think 😍

A hug. The works on this occasion also have interesting things. I liked the thing about the name of the first painting. 😁

History, the past and the stranger. That would be the name I would give to the first work of art.

Very interesting.

Thank you for stopping by, I'm glad you liked the artworks.