Manipulation All The Way

in Photography Lovers3 years ago

At the beginning of my Steem/Hive journey I used to do a lot of photo editing, manipulation, black and white, plus sepia, but then things have changed and photo editing and manipulation kind of got in the background. I still love it as it's a lot of fun, so in the weekend I had the chance to play with some rose photos I tool not long ago in the park.

The reason I love editing rose photos is that the original photos are not always good. Photographing red flowers is a pain and I'm not good at it or my gear is not adequate. Editing the photos give me the possibility to highlight the details, which are lost in the original photo.

aIMG_20211002_111020-01-01a.jpg

This is a simple rose, there's nothing special about it, but on this edit, the petals are highlighted and it's possible to see the texture as well.

aIMG_20211002_111050-01-01a.jpg

This is a different edit, in which I also focused on the petals. Lucky me, it's October and these flowers are starting to fade away. Autumns is cold, they can't resist for long and this is the best period to photograph flowers if you'd like to do some cool edits. Fresh petals may not be so interesting, while a half dry petal is a beauty.

aIMG_20211002_175045a.jpg

This is the same photo, with different filters applied. I made it more bluish this time.

aIMG_20211002_175639a.jpg

Although I'm not a fan of the '80s photo style, this one looks like that. The green is more brownish and the whole photo looks like the colors are off.

IMG_20211002_110906-01a.jpg

Another rose that must have been a real beauty a few weeks ago, but nothing lasts forever, so it started to fade away, but that's exactly what i wanted to capture. look at those petals. You don't see those details on the original photo.

aIMG_20211002_110929-01a.jpg

These roses were already faded, that's why I took the photo. Then when I started editing, my main focus was not on details but to make it more glowy.

Now let's see the originals, but don't be shocked :)

IMG_20211002_111020a.jpg

This is the original of the first photo.

IMG_20211002_111050a.jpg

The second and the third photo is the same and this is the original, based on what the edits have been done.

IMG_20211002_110906a.jpg

And this is the photo before the last one.

Now feel free to compare the original with the edit and tell me which one is better, or maybe both are as bad :)

Editing photos is a fun game, you should try it out.


presearch