Something Different

in Photography Lovers28 days ago

Today I'm going to show you something some of you may have never seen. In my previous posts I've been showing you some amazing graphics by Tamás Vass, some of which left me speechless at the exhibition. Graphics is one of the hardest, or most difficult art form in my eyes, mostly because I know so little about the process. Today I decided to take a closer look and show you how it's done, or what details we see at a closer look.

20240429_124605a.jpg

October Celebration

There were no more details about the graphics, but if you have a close look, you can see the action must have taken place somewhere in Roman times. The clothes, or lack of clothes supports my theory. Must have been a wild party for sure, which looks odd today, but back in those days, social rules were not so strict, this scene must have been normal.

20240429_124605a1.jpg

I cropped the photo, to eliminate the frame and get a closer image of the graphics.

20240429_124605a2.jpg

And this is what I wanted to show you. Look at how these characters are drawn. Fine lines in every direction.

20240429_124605a3.jpg

As much as it scared and confused me at the beginning, graphics is starting to become a type of art I'd like to know more about and even try it out. It'll be a first for me and as I know myself, a good dose of frustration is inevitable, but that will not stop me. Just need a few hours I can spend and accept the fact that there' a high chance the outcome will be something you will never want to show anyone :))

20240429_124613a.jpg

This was something I've never seen before and I'm also not sure I fully understand it. What you see on the photo above is the exact copy of the graphics, but on metal and the image is flipped. Unfortunately taking a photo standing in front of it was out of the question, due to the reflections and glare. The piece of metal on which the graphics has been replicated, was under a glass, which meant double trouble for me.

One of the labels said (now that I'm looking at it, it was exactly this one), that this copy was made after the artist's passing. I could see two reasons why. One is to preserve it as we all know paper and ink, or even paint can deteriorate in time, this is why experts are working on digitalizing artworks. The other can be an artistic attempt, to add something extra to the original work.

Being confused, I asked the gallery curator about how it is done, but she could not provide any information about the matter. Without any official info, all what I was left with, was guessing. Think about it, we have 3D printing today, you can even build houses using an appropriate 3D printing. I can imagine a similar technique to create an exact copy of the original graphics. Maybe some of you know more about this. If you do, let me know in a comment please.

20240429_124726(0)a.jpg

Resurrection

Resurrection is often depicted by artists and I found a graphics here as well. I must admit, I've seen many resurrections, but this is something unique.

20240429_124740a.jpg

And this is the metal copy of this particular piece.

20240429_124746a.jpg

The Cross

Speaking of religious themes, here's the cross. I'm not a huge fan of religious themed artworks, but some of them are exceptional from artistic point of view and this is one of those.

20240429_124746a2.jpg

Look at the details. Look at the facial expression. It says a lot about the talent of the artist.

20240429_124756a.jpg

This exhibition showed me how much I don't know about art. I love how there's something new to learn each time and I hope I can learn more about this replica thing on metal.

I'm also grateful for having the occasion to visit this exhibition because these artworks are now in private hand and the owners all agreed to lend these beauties to the museum till the exhibition lasts.

If you're a newbie, you may want to check out these guides:


presearch

Sort:  

Interesting the contrast between the Roman debauchery and the resurrection/cross. I think I like the resurrection the best. Very dynamic and dramatic. Very original.

It is definitely something to appreciate and honestly, I haven't thought about the contrast between the Roman debauchery and the resurrection/cross. Now that you mention it, yes, you're right.

Beautiful artworks

Indeed they are.

October Celebration looks amazing and wild, I like the detailed art and even the smallest thing is really detailed. I just feel like this scene happened in a brothel house with all the drinks and even the women shown in there 🤔🤔. I also like Resurrection and The Cross, but October Celebration caught mt attention the most. Anyways, those same copy of the arts, it's not bad that they are making that but if I will to choose, nothing can beat the original. ✨🤩

Lol, who knows if it was a brothel or not, but you know, back then rules were a bit different from what they are today. Interesting observation and I can see why as some, if not all the characters are naked or half naked.

I would also prefer the paper version, because I would not like the glare on the metal or glass.

If you look at his work, it tends to be more directed towards the royal era. perhaps it could be said to be Roman and Greek, but what is taken into consideration regarding religious images is the "concept of the image" as if it is not like a painting in general, it may have a "deep meaning" for the painter. interesting

You could be right, I don't know, but it's interesting.

I really like your post! I appreciate a lot that you took the time not only to really see what’s in the piece, but to take the pictures to share with us what we are looking at.

Sometimes we see the full picture without taking a look at the details that actually create it.

Thank you Belug, I like to post about art and over the years I've managed to inspire a few people, which is a good thing.

Sometimes we see the full picture without taking a look at the details that actually create it.

That is very true, and there are those who don't see the anything at all, just rush trough an exhibition in 2 minutes 😃

Congratulations @erikah! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 480000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 490000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

WORK OF ART!!

Always love your post man, this art works drives my curiosity for arts, it's giving the history vibe, haha.

And of a truth, no matter how many art you see there's to more to see, hehe. It's always embraces one with the togetherness feeling.

I'm really glad to hear that.

These are awesome, I think it's actually something you should give a try, these are simply intriguing
!LUV

I would, if I'd have the time, but maybe one day. Who knows. Where we'll not have electricity, which never happens 😁

Loading...