The Future

Last week I shared some of the photos I took at the exhibition organized by the special forces. There were so many things exhibited that you could spend a whole day looking around, trying out things and especially learning. Most of the things you saw there are off limits to civilians, so everyone wanted to make sure they had a close look at whatever they found interesting.

There was a funny moment too, which I want to share with you today, right at the beginning of my post.

20230301_114454a.jpg

At some point I spotted this quadruped robot, which usually gives me the creeps, but this time I knew it can't hurt me, so I went closer to it to have a closer look.

20230301_114547a.jpg

In case you are wondering, it was manually and remotely operated by this guy.

20230301_114505a.jpg

This is where things started to get interesting. There was this German shepherd visiting the exhibition and the guy controlling the robot saw the opportunity right away, just as the visitors did. I was very curious to see what the dog is going to do when she sees the robot, so I stopped and took as many photos as was possible, to capture the important moments of the meeting.

20230301_114506a.jpg

As the robot got closer to the dog, everyone was expecting a harsh reaction from the dog. When they got face to face, the robot started to bark 😂. Imagine those watching the scene. Everyone started to laugh. I think no one was expecting the robot to bark, but it's a robot after all, can make whatever sound it is programmed to do. The bark sounded a bit robotic, I mean the sound was not very clear and loud, but still, it was barking.

20230301_114509a.jpg

What do you think happened next? Nothing. The the robot tried to catch the dog's attention at any cost but the dog was not interested in the robot at all, so she went on her way.

20230301_114526a.jpg

20230301_114527a.jpg

The guy tried all the tricks the robot could do, to get the dog's attention, but without any success. The dog looked at the robot a couple of times as it was in front of her, but that was pretty much all.

20230301_114534a.jpg

She turned her back on the robot and walked away. This was definitely not the reaction we were hoping for, but thinking about it, why would the dog react differently?

Now imagine, any dog has a very good sense of smell. They can smell you before they can see you and also can smell any animal from far. This is why they use dogs in so many different areas today. This robot had no smell, or if it had, it was most likely a smell of metal and oil (perhaps), but definitely not a smell animals usually have. If the dog would have been trained to detect robots smelling like this one, she would have been interested for sure, but not without training.

For us, civilians, who have only seen such a robot in TV, this experiment was a very interesting one. For the military, who are using these robots in critical situations, is a known fact though. They have tested the robot in a thousand situations already, to be sure what to expect when it is used in a real situations. So the guy directing the robot knew what's going to happen.

Unfortunately there was no way of finding out what that robot is called or what were the characteristics, but you can find similar robot descriptions online and it's amazing what these man made creatures are capable of.

Service robots are deployed in various combat scenarios with the main objective of removing personnel from harm’s way. Such capability can give both strategic and tactical advantage. Drones, uncrewed ground vehicles (UGV) and even guided missiles are robots with weapons, but most people don’t consider them as such. Put four legs on the machine and things will change drastically.

The four semi-autonomous Vision 60 models the base operates each have 14 sensors, advanced multi-directional, thermal and infrared video capabilities and can operate for three hours of continuous run time on one charge. The robots carry out route checks and anomaly detection autonomously. source

Our goal is to make our Q-UGVs an indispensable tool and continuously push the limits to improve its ability to walk, run, crawl, climb and eventually swim in complex environments that our customers must operate in, day in and day out. Ultimately, our robot is made to keep our warfighters, workers and K9s out of harm’s way. source

After digging deeper into the matter, to me, it seems like this was a Vision-60 model, but obviously I could be wrong. Check out this link, there's a video about what they can do and it's frightening.

At the exhibition the robot did not seem loud, because there was a lot of noise, but watching the YouTube video I posted at the bottom of the post, makes me think some noise control would do a lot of good.

20230301_114801a.jpg

Kids were thrilled to see the robot and many were taking selfies with the robot. I'm glad I had the chance to see it live as who knows when or if I will have another chance.

If you're a newbie, you may want to check out these guides:


presearch

Sort:  

Those German shepherds are very discipline dogs. I see them all the time at my work as we allow thier handlers to go through our terminal for training. They basically use these rubber coated ball like items and hide them all over. Some our explosive/drug scented and others arent. The dogs always find the correct one. They will point and kneel on their finds.

Also they are vicious at attacking. A dog can be panting and look happy than all of a sudden with one called out command by the handler the dog turns someone's worst nightmare.

I haven't seen much ground robotics as I work with the Air Force. I've seen drones and remote controlled aircraft and I can say they get used a lot. Interesting facts maybe you don't know is they are controlled by enlisted members. It amazes me that some can be controlled far far away from where there located.

It was hilarious hearing your account of the barking robot. I enjoyed the third round of this I hope I didn't miss one, lol. I'm sure there are many former veterans and current service members that would find this trilogy of articles you did interesting.

I know German shepherds are used a lot as service dogs as they are smart. And yes, they can be turned into a weapon, if the situation asks for it.

Yes, thee were drones here too, I'm going to post about those possibly in the upcoming week. This is the fourth post by the way, if you've seen three, then it seems you've missed one. But no worries, Hive is like a diary, you can always scroll back :)

Yes I scroll back when I get sometime. Just been pretty busy with real life.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @seckorama ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

This made me laugh out loud; love the dog, was not even bothered to prove it's intelligence. Very inspiring, reminds me of a proverb along these lines "a lion that tries to prove his royalty turns into a donkey"
Have a lovely Sunday 🙂

I loved the two as well, it was an unique occasion and I'm glad I was present. The next day the robot was not there, so I can consider myself lucky.

Divine timing 🔥

I've seen some of these robots in action and they're a thrill to watch. Our new overlords.

I agree, I found them very interesting, but also scary.

Dogs, besides having good sight and hearing, are guided by their sense of smell. Since the robot did not give off any odor, it did not capture the dog's attention.

Excellent photos and report.

Best regards

!PIZZA

Thank you @castri-ja, indeed, that was the explanation in my pinion. They were of the same height and size, so everyone thought the dog is going to react.

Have a nice weekend.

Dogs' main sense of smell is their sense of smell. The dog's reaction is normal

Excellent photos Erika really the robot dog is great and is an example that humans are the most perfect thinking species in this vast Universe to show our creativity.

The German Shepherd dog thought and say "you are a fake canine; because you have not marked your zone" lol I if I can do it when I see a rubber from a car.

Happy Sunday friend a hug from my beautiful Caribbean.🌴🌞

The German Shepherd dog thought and say "you are a fake canine; because you have not marked your zone" lol I if I can do it when I see a rubber from a car.

You are right, this robot can't mark its territory like dogs do. It was an interesting meeting between the two and funny too :).

Have a nice evening my friend :)

I'm not sure if this scares me or makes me feel safe in the future... but looks quite creepy lol

You and me both 🙂. When I see these robots in tv, my first thought is that it can throw a knife at me, spill acid at me, spray me with some lethal nerve gas or shoot me. Now that I saw it live, maybe I'm not so scared of them, but the possibility still remains.

a few years back I have did saw a video and the video was 3 years earlier. This can be really useful for the military and day-to-day use if you have to travel and carry luggage for kilometers. sure it will cost a lot if an average person wants to buy this equipment. Thanks for sharing have a great upcoming week.

I think you're missing the point. The military is not using these to carry luggage, it's for gathering intel and can carry a weapon on top if they want to use it for defense or attack purposes. At this point I doubt it's available to civilians.

oops this seems to be more advanced than what I have seen on years back video 😁. Thanks
Now its all clear.

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you.

Just rushed to watch a video on it and it's cool, just like all robots. In general, dogs seem to be more interested in humans than things even if robots aren't things you see everyday. I however know one animal that would definitely have had a serious reaction, even create a scene perhaps haha.

Cats..those crazy, proud, apathetic, self-absorbed creatures. Familiar with them ey?😂😂

I don't like cats, so I have to take your word for it. Who knows, maybe a cat would have reacted differently, however, cats can't really stand the crowd.

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@wrestlingdesires(10/15) tipped @erikah (x1)
castri-ja tipped erikah (x1)

Join us in Discord!

https://leofinance.io/threads/@celi130/re-leothreads-2grdyharh
https://leofinance.io/threads/@seckorama/re-leothreads-zhwy4esj
https://leofinance.io/threads/@ladyfoth/re-leothreads-2nm4sequm
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( celi130, seckorama, ladyfoth ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Woaah I haven't seen like that before and hopefully it would be a great help to the team.

It sure is as it's been developed to serve the team and save lives.

AJJAJAAJJA ¿Ver armas unicas de grado militar? Nah, necesitamos ver como reacciona ese perro jajajaja ¡Ey! No te culpo, seguramente yo estaría en primera fila para enterarme de lo que sucediera. Yo me esperaba que el perro seria más curioso y me sorprendió mucho cuando contaste que el robot ladro jajajaj que buena anécdota, gracias por compartirla. He visto muchos videos de este tipo de robots y siempre dan aun aura extraña, recuerdo que hay un capitulo de black mirror que trata de un futuro distopico dominado por esas maquinas.

Everyone was expecting a reaction from the dog, but a different one that actually happened. I suppose if the robot would have jumped on the dog, there would have been a different reaction. Or who knows 😂
Yeah, these robots will have a role in the future. Right now, however, the cost of a robot like this is a bit too high for general use.

I am sure it is designed for something or its just an experiment for now look cute tho

It is designed for the military as i said in my post.

Congratulations @erikah! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - March 15, 2023
HiveBuzz rewards participants in the Afri-Tunes Anniversary event
Keep Hive Buzzing - Support our proposal!
The Hive Gamification Proposal

A video clip of this would be very fascinating to me, the dog and the robot performing lol. Oh, I saw the video wow.
What a great day you had, exhibition always left us with awesome moments and long lasting effects.
#Photographylovers

Indeed was a great day with a lot of new things to see. This robot and the dog was the cherry on top for sure.

So fascinating to see a robotic security dog, one of the best innovations of our time.

What an incredible machine... I wonder how fast it can go?

So the guy directing the robot knew what's going to happen.

Not at all, dogs are individuals :) One that's not so mellow, or with less socialization, could have reacted quite violently or fearfully (or both). Even the same animal might react differently according to his or her mood, too.

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

I don't know how fast it can go but I suppose it can't run very fast.

Not at all, dogs are individuals :) One that's not so mellow, or with less socialization, could have reacted quite violently or fearfully (or both). Even the same animal might react differently according to his or her mood, too.

You never know. You can anticipate, but you never know. But I'm sure the robot has been tested several times in similar situations :)

But I'm sure the robot has been tested several times in similar situations :)

Maybe it's immune to dog attacks :)

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

@erikah! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (4/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Wow, I didn't expect the dog to completely ignore Mr. robot hahaha, every day technology impresses me more, thanks for sharing this experience, I had no idea that these robots existed and I would also be terrified!! D:

This dog was a very calm one, everyone was petting her, treating her as a puppy and she did not mind. And yes, robots like this exist and are used by the army and in other areas too.

How much is that doggy in the window ? About $1,000,000
#LOLZ

I have no idea.

it was very extraordinary when I saw your post. it is indeed extraordinary that someone created a robot in Germany. thank you.... for the post you shared.

 last year  Reveal Comment

Well, robots are already taking over and doing some of the jobs that were done by humans. This process can't be stopped.

This is called spamming.

так себя тут не ведут!
ты не в твитере))