Village Life On Canvas

Last month I wanted to visit this exhibition, but when I got there, the artist and the people from the church were just about to unpack the paintings. I saw I was too early, so I went back today to see what the artist has been up to.

This exhibition was held at the Unitarian church, where these small exhibitions are held in order to support not so known artists. It's a very nice initiative as every artist needs support, especially at the beginning of their career. Having an opportunity to exhibit without financial burdens is a blessing.

Not knowing anything about the exhibition is a huge blessing as whatever you're about to see is a surprise.

20230503_123627a.jpg

The Boom Well Of Brebu
While looking at the painting, I was thinking how common is for artists to paint village life. Old houses, village people, livestock, barns. Most likely some of them want to perpetuate their childhood memories, while others are just painting what they like.

This type of well was very common once, when there was no tap water, nor pumps, so everything was done manually, the hard way.

20230503_123700a.jpg

Landscape

20230503_123726a.jpg

The Cottage
Looking at the paintings exhibited, quite many were about village life, like this one. Shingle roof, simple house and most likely a barn with livestock in the back. What I liked about this one was the colors. Green and blue dominating the painting and the house standing out.

20230503_123748a.jpg

Baia Mare Landscape

Usually I love rough paintings, but this seemed a bit too dark for my taste.

20230503_123811a.jpg

The Church

20230503_123902a.jpg

Tuscan Vibe

The previous paintings were acrylic on canvas, this one was watercolor and I love a good watercolor. The colors are perfect for my taste here. I tried to avoid reflections as much as I could.

20230503_123916a.jpg

The Highlight Of The Night

20230503_123932a.jpg

Arcades

20230503_123952a.jpg

The Castle

It's not exactly the usual castle you see in the movies or in some parts of the world, but size is relative. For such a small village, a bigger building can be called a castle.

20230503_124008a.jpg

Village Life

This is a typical village cottage, but the wooden porch indicates the owner was not exactly the poorest peasant. You can still see these types of village cottages at the countryside.

20230503_124030a.jpg

Summer Lights

This painting seemed a bit too blue for me, but what I loved about it was the roof of the house. Look at that checkered pattern. There's no such thing in reality, but I loved it. It looked really great.

20230503_124101a.jpg

Home, Sweet Home

20230503_124120a.jpg

Synopses

20230503_124130(0)a.jpg

Autumn

I liked this one for the colors mostly. I think pairing orange with that shade of blue and brown was a smart thing to do. The ceramics vase painted with folk elements was also a very good idea.

20230503_124147a.jpg

Self Portrait

I was quite surprise to see such a self portrait. I mean I've never seen anyone's self portrait with green hair and green glasses, but I like it.

After looking at the paintings, I checked the price list and to my surprise, these paintings were quite accessible. Some were already sold, so I was late to the party, but my absolute favorite was still there.

If you're a newbie, you may want to check out these guides:


presearch

Sort:  

So nice to see artists everywhere doing exhibits, don't think twice buy your favorite one @erikah 😁.

Lol, unfortunately I have to think 3 times as otherwise I would be an impulsive buyer with huge debts and I don't like it. But there are two paintings here that I would buy.

After buying you might wanna share what it is that you bought.

IF I buy something, I will definitely let you know.

These paintings are really nice. My uncle as well is a painter and used to paint with a style close to these ones. Just with a little less colors, but the style of drawing is very similar

I'm glad to hear you have or had an artist in your family. My dad's cousin is a painter, but they live hind of far, so I've never seen her paint.

Hi Erika, the staging of this artist talks about a naive and self-taught artist who captures on the canvas his memories, and experiences of what his journey through life has been. Her technique is natural without art schools, but she is naive, spontaneous, and pure. The work of the barn with the water well generates a lot of peace and calm for me just by contemplating.

Maybe I painted her hair green because in her memory she looks between the light of blues and yellows, it may be the stage where she takes a self-portrait...

Thanks for sharing your tour, hugs to you.🌞

Interesting interpretation of what you see, but most likely you're right. I don't go to openings, where you can learn about the artist's work and thoughts, because you can't take photos when the gallery is packed with people. So this is why I'm always guessing, but it's a nice game and don't mind guessing. It puts your mind to work.

Thanks for the comment my friend. Hugs and have a nice day 🌷

I wonder how artists come up with these paintings ideas
All of these are nice
I'm in love with them...

Life is inspiring you, if you pay attention.

Congratulations @erikah! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 350000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 360000 upvotes.
You made more than 40000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 41000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April PUM Winners
Feedback from the May Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2023 Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal

Cool paintings, village life is very peaceful and the full of adventures with many nature beauties. Love to see you artwork of village areas.

Village life is always a great source of inspiration. I love to photograph village life but with the privacy issues, it's not quite easy.

I feel that when I grow old my house will have many pictures that will look like the first ones you showed.

I work in oils and predominantly with knife, not quite my style, but one or two caught my eye.