Summer poppies

in Photography Lovers4 years ago

poppies garden bokeh 4.jpg

Two of my favourite things: My mum's poppies and by brother's lens. Both are one of a kind and both are owners pride that I get to use :p

Those poppies bloom later than the usual wild one and are multiple times bigger. They grow more than a metre high and the glowers are the size of an apple. Especially those with multiple layers of petals that look like pom poms.
Withing few years they almost took over the flower harden and they are very low maintenance. They will bloom for few weeks and then produce seeds. We will keep the seed pods until they dry up on their own and spread the seeds for the next year. Then just remove the dry stems and that's it. In the same place other flowers will bloom for the rest of the year and the seeds will wait and when spring come they will sprout on their own. How cool is that?

poppies garden bokeh 1.jpg

The Biotar lens is one of my brother's favourites. Or at least it was last year. Great colour, great sharpness and lovely bokeh. It can do much more than on those photos. Those photos are about poppies :) Nice little toy.

poppies garden bokeh 3.jpg

poppies garden bokeh 5.jpg

View to a part of the garden. Behind we keep some tall pine and other evergreen trees for some shade and some apple trees. Also for shade, cause they are very old and don't produce any more apples.

poppies garden bokeh 2.jpg

My drawing version of a poppy :)

pink flower.jpg

»«
Shot with Sony a7R + Biotar 1.4 50mm lens
All photos, graphics and text are my own.

Q banner.png

»»-------------¤-------------««

Sort:  

Pictures are great and you are too lucky to use a biotar...They have great resolution and color rendering...their bokeh is also excellent...

Have a great day my friend...

This is an awesome lens indeed! Brother lets me try his lenses when I visit :)

!discovery 20

Thank you :)


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here

oh. i like biotar lens. they have absolutely perfect bokeh. I can see it in these photos. congratulations my dear friend..

Me too :D And I like all the bokeh :)

I don't know biotar lens. I don't know much about these issues since I took photos with my phone camera. What is bokeh? I think I have to learn something. All i know is that i like your photos right now. Poppies look beautiful.

It is an awesome lens! Bokeh is that blurred background. It can have different effects depending on the lens, settings, light and what is in the back.
Thank you :)

They're beautiful :D I don't think I've seen this type before :D So fluffy looking

They are gorgeous! She got some seeds a while back and they just regrow even since. They are almost like carnations :)

Sweet :D They really are now that you mention it ^^ Forgot how those were called

So many different kinds, cool ...
I somehow did not pay attention to the fact that they are different)

Yea she has few types there :D Some of the smaller ones too. And some more orange ones, but I didn't manage to shoot them.

So many different kinds, cool ...
I somehow did not pay attention to the fact that they are different)

Very Creamy and beautiful drawing and painting 👌👌

Thank you :)