Air Sand Sculptures

IMG_6382.JPG

I enjoy making sand sculptures in the air. Throwing dry fine white sand into the air while standing on a sand dune waving my arms and twisting my body can create fantastic forms against a blue sky. A second later they are gone.

An iPhone was positioned down the side of the dune sitting on a tripod. In these photos I removed most or all of my body in post-production edits.

IMG_6376.JPG

The photos were taken using OSnap! Pro on an iPhone with a frame rate of 0.5 seconds.

The right hand sand sculpture in the above photo was taken 0.5 seconds after the left hand one. Two seconds later all the sand had fallen back to Earth. All the sand except for some in my hair and ears - and eyes if I forget to close them.

Community1.jpg

I usually throw sand for a few minutes and then have to wait until getting home to see if I’ve created any sculptures I like.

Inevitably this means deleting several hundred photos that show nothing interesting. Often these deleted photos show me picking up more sand for the next throw.
Community1b.jpg
Learning a body movement to create new sand sculptures involves play and patience. It can also be frustrating if I later discover I wasn’t actually in the frame.

IMG_6379.JPG

Some sand sculptures look like sand creatures which can ride away in a strong sea breeze.

IMG_6381.GIF

The sand in this last image was animated using Plotagraph on an iPad.

Sort:  

I love your work. So free and full of expression.

Thanks @ammonite 🙏🏼 I’m just about to check out your post on dinosaurs 🦕

This is an incredibly creative approach to sculpting! Welcome to Hive and thank you for sharing your awesome photography here in the community with us! Looking forward to seeing more of your content! Keep up the great work and it does get easier to navigate and use over time! Cheers!

Thanks for the welcome @castleberry It is a bit of a navigation challenge but I'm slowly getting the hang of it 🙂

I am sure you will get in the swing of things... It does take some time to get your Blockchain legs under you! There will be plenty of folks to help along the way! =)

Wow this is inspiring!! Great work on the photos and the final animated image is so amazing! Thank you for sharing this!

Ah, beautiful. I agree with @clareartista, this brings a whole new dimension to the work of yours I've already had the privilege to witness. ❤️

Posted using Dapplr

O wow - I've seen a lot of your work, @exoexplorer , but these are a whole other kind of expression - I love them - I love the more abstract element of there not being a 'thrower', but the sand being in movement by design, gorgeously free. It's like taking out the 'contract' or 'effort' and leaving just the expression - the purity of that expression.
Thank you for your beautiful presence here: I too am so excited to see your work unfold in Hive!
Blessings!

Thanks @clareartista 🙏 Yes it's interesting to imagine how the hands and body might have moved. For some of them I have an embodied memory of the 'dance' that created the form which is fascinating to me.

I particularly adore the animated thrown sand in your final image here - it's beautiful and delicate.

this is a very beautiful technique, greetings from us, Indonesia

Thank you from Australia @maytom 🙏🏼

Wow😍😍

Thank you 🙏🏼 Perhaps this is something you can try one day 🙂

Congratulations @exoexplorer! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List