"Nightmare" - A Series of Spider Photographs

1.JPG


Phobias are classified, in some sense, as the irrational fear of something. The Greek word "phóbos" means fear. Where the irrational part came in, I am not sure. But most phobias are irrational, to some extent. The fear of spiders, arachnophobia, probably has to do with the fact that they are poisonous and can be life-threatening. Is the fear that irrational? On the other hand, they probably only defend themselves against bigger animals, like us humans, due to us threatening them. So, is their defence that unreasonable? The fact remains, some people have an inherent aversion to things like spiders, especially when they are in your home, your supposed safe space.

When I saw the massive orb web spider behind my compost, in its own territory and not in mine, I felt a strange aversion, but also the need to look. Its beauty, along with the fear it induced in me, lured me. I saw that it only had seven legs, and I felt sad for its loss. But I was also amazed at its will to live.

2.JPG


As I edited the photographs, I felt a strange and uncanny discomfort. Whilst writing these words, seeing the images on my screen, I am feeling that same uncanny discomfort. It feels like I am looking at something I am not allowed to look at, but not in the same sense as witnessing a crime or something along those lines. The feeling is, instead, linked to the deep-seated fear I have for spiders.

My phobia is probably not as strong as others are. I only have a mild fear of them. The idea that it touches me or walks over my hand sends literal shivers down my back. I do not like it. If they remain in the garden, I am fine with it, if they enter my room, my safe space, I feel an uncanny discomfort toward my own safe space.

3.JPG


4.JPG

The spider remained in place behind the compost. It remained in place as I took photographs, not minding this human creature clicking away with its mechanical photography machine.

The beauty of this spider lured me deeper into its web. The uncanny feeling remained, I felt the urge, the pull, to get away, yet I remained moving closer and closer to it. The colours popped on the screen of my camera, the dark and deep black almost sucked me in, deeper and deeper.

Yet the encounter remained friendly. In my mind it was a "NIGHTMARE", but this was only in my mind, the irrational fear of spiders. If I did not disturb it, it would not bite me, it would remain calm and feast on the bugs that it catches.

A long time ago, I read about the benefit of having these spiders in your garden. I never saw them, not knowing if they were in my garden. I always see black widows and rain spiders. But now, I know these are in my garden. In some sense, I am happy. But in other aspects, I am a bit afraid now. The irrational fear...

5.JPG


6.JPG

7.JPG

I left my friend alone. I knew of its existence, and it probably knew of mine. The compost heap is a source of life, attracting birds, spiders, various insects and creepy crawlies, bacteria and mushrooms. It always feels like a small miracle to see so much emerge from a pile of essentially rotting material. Nature is wonderful.

8.JPG

For now, happy photography and keep well.

Stay away from spiders, otherwise, you might get bitten...

All of the writing in this post is my own, unless hyperlinked. The photographs are also my own, taken with my Nikon D300 and Tamron 300mm zoom lens.

9.JPG

Sort:  

Looks like something out of a sci-fi movie. Excellent photography, it's not easy filming a spider.

!COFFEE
!PGM
!BBH

@fermentedphil! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @ironshield. (2/5)

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO - 0.005 SCRAP - 0.001 INK tokens

remaining commands 11

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


You just received 0.05 COFFEE! Good coffee my friend

number of commands left: 1

If you also want to send COFFEE buy them here on hive-engine

Thank you so much. It gave me the fright of my life when I saw it. Too close for comfort!

Excellent photography up close and personal, not many enjoy spiders or snakes, pretty to look at!

!LOLZ
!WINEX

Pretty to look at, but scary to know that it might crawl into your safe space. A clear line between home and nature is never easy, but one I would like to keep there! Thank you so much, I really appreciate it.

We have many spiders indoors and outdoors, something one comes to terms with and have no control over !LOLZ

So true. I found two rain spider nests, and one hatched this afternoon. There are hundreds of small spiders everywhere!

Amazing spiders!

Thanks! I really appreciate the visit.

What a fantastic spider! Cool photos!

Thanks! I was lucky to have gotten them. Lighting was pretty bad, but it helped with the overall nightmare effect.

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you so much @ackhoo! I really appreciate it.

That's an amazing spider. The abdomen looks like it might glow in the dark, and given the complexity of their visual system, I wouldn't be surprised.

image.png

For sure. But that will only make the spider even more intimidating! Thank you so much, I really appreciate the visit.

AWESOME BEAUTIFULLY EXPLAINED.
Trust me I am loving your content... keep this good work up to next levels!!

Thank you so much! I always appreciate your visit.