You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Perhaps my best photos of this sunbird.

Great shots! These guys always sing in the morning for me. I love their call in my garden! In the early morning, they fly around singing their songs, and as you say, they do not sit still for a moment! And then late in the afternoon, they are always on the heels of the Cape white-eyes, especially when I water the garden. Thank you for sharing the beauty of our birds!

Sort:  

Oh yeah, I am sure that there are many sunbirds visiting your garden. At one stage, when we lived at another place, the sunbirds, and even the white eyes, used to fly through the spray of our hose pipe, and then they would sit in a tree and preen themselves. Can you imagine that I could never get them in action, flying through the spray. Too fast.
I love to share my passions.
!BEER

Oh yes, for sure! I still struggle to photograph them as well. Congratulations on the featured image on PhotographyLovers' wrap-up post! Such a beautiful photograph of wonderful birds. I think the sunbirds have a nest in one of the big trees here close by, as I always hear them in the tree when I work in the garden.

Well, you got some beautiful shots of them in the past, and I am glad that you liked the wrap up post.
Difficult to locate a sunbird nest, and the best way that I find, is to watch when and where the parents are feeding. They fly frequently to the same spot, and that's where you will find the location of the nest. So, keep an eye out when you work in the garden, and I hope that you will locate the nest.

!PIZZA and !LUV

fermentedphil, papilloncharity sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

I will do so! It would be so interesting to see if they made their nest in the tree.

For sure, they are such quick little guys. Saw some this morning again, but as soon as I ran inside to grab the camera, they were gone again!

I am a bit surprised that they would nest in a tree, as they normally build their nest in dense bushes. But keep a watchful eye on them, and I am sure that you will find the nest.

Hahaha, yes, I call them escape artists, and if you are not ready to snap them as they land, then it is good-bye Maraai. Check the times where and when they appear, and then sit and wait on a chair, as that's the way that I get them.

!BEER

I though about that yesterday whilst watching one of them feast on the cape honey suckle bush. I wanted to run in to get the camera, but I knew if I stood up, that it would fly away. And they sure did; as soon as I got up, they zoomed away! And when that happened, I had that exact same thought; now I know when they feast, so I might as well brew some coffee, get a chair, and wait for them with my camera ready!!

Oh then they might just like the tree; it is probably just a midway safe spot where they wait and look out for some yummy treats. I don't think I have enough shrubs and bushes for them to make nests in.

You had the right thought, but now it's time for the thought being clothed in action, otherwise it will always remain as just a thought.

I know when they feast, so I might as well brew some coffee, get a chair, and wait for them with my camera ready!!
This is it, and you will soon get them on camera. Just don't forget to leave the battery in the house, as it happens to me occasionally when I am in deep thought. !LOLZ

Yes, they know where to feed, and maybe you should plant a nesting bush for them. The next time that you visit us, I will show you their nesting bush at Lourensford.

!PIZZA


Hey @fermentedphil, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

We love your support by voting @detlev.witness on HIVE .