Discovering Ninfa

Photographic immersion into the natural beauty of "Giardino di Ninfa", Italy

In Spring, when the quarantine was over in Italy, I went to visit an amazing treasure in Latium, the Italian region I live. This garden looks like a fairy tale place. I quote here the English Wikipedia entry about the garden: "The Garden of Ninfa is a landscape garden in the territory of Cisterna di Latina, in the province of Latina, central Italy. The park has an area of 105 hectares (260 acres), and is an Italian natural monument. The landscape garden within the park comprises 8 hectares (20 acres) and contains medieval ruins, several oaks, cypresses and poplars, grassy meadows, a wide range of exotic plants from various parts of the world, numerous watercourses and a large variety of rambling roses growing over the stone walls of the ruins. The site is run by the Italian foundation Fondazione Roffredo Caetani. It is open to the public at set times from April to November. Nearby towns include Norma and Sermoneta. Ninfa has been described as "the most romantic garden in the world"."

I mentioned Wikipedia because I do not want to write and explain in words what this outstanding places look like. I rather make my photos speak. Hope you enjoy!


The garden provides a wonderful sight of a rich variety of flowers as well.


Although the Garden was very much limited in terms of spots to visit and freedom of walking (you had to book your ticket a specific hours and wait for your turn to enter the garden, so to avoid too much people being inside altogether), because of the post-quarantine situation we are still expriencing, in that occasion it was sad not to have the chance to explore the entire area at its full. I remembered the first time I went there with my family: I was very small, may be 4 or 5 years old, and the only clear memory I have is the sight of the bambù forest. It was definitely worhty to see the garden again with new and grown-up eyes 20 years later. If you have some spare time and want to see a great place in Latium, only 2 hours from Rome by car, go for Giardino di Ninfa: you'll never regret it!

Booking information: (online only) https://giardinodininfa.eu/categoria-prodotto/visita-i-luoghi/visita-i-luoghi-giardino-di-ninfa/

I recommend you book your ticket in extreme advance because the spots are limited and especially this time of the year it can be hard to find the availability.

Parking spots are provided. Also, cafe and restaurant are available in the area of the Garden.


As usual, it's a pleasure for me to share my photography with the #HiveCommunity. Hope you enjoyed this post! Please, leave a comment with your impressions and I'll be more than happy to start a conversation with you!


Yours | Flewsplash
Sort:  

These photos looks awesome!
Love the colours...

Thank you! The colours were indeed incredible, I tried to keep them as they were without postproducing the photos too much.

Your photographs are remarkable and could be featured in Condé Nast Traveler!

Thank you for sharing a piece of your paradise with us! @flewsplash

Thank you Nina! It'd be a pleasure for me to have my work mentioned! And I have to admit, in Italy we have many of this kind of paradise ✨🧚

Another Italian hidden gem
Nice job

!BEER

Thanks a million @ciuoto 🤗

Bellissime foto! Sono incantata.
Mi piacerebbe tanto visitare questo luogo un giorno :) anzi, lo metto in lista per la prossima volta che vengo da quelle parti!
Grazie per averle condivise con noi, ti auguro una buona giornata :)

Grazie mille! Sì ti consiglio di andare a vederlo perché è un posto che merita tantissimo, però d'inverno credo sia chiuso e riapre in primavera


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program