A fruitless day

IMG_6934.jpg

Isn't it frustrating when you visit a beautiful place for a few days, hoping you'll get a lot of great shots and the weather just refuses to cooperate?

That's exactly what happened to me and although I am in one of the nicest places in Greece my camera remained in its bag, the whole day. It's not that we have a truly bad weather, we have spent the day at the beach and it was great but there is a haziness in the air that makes photography pointless!

IMG_6919.jpg

IMG_6909.jpg

IMG_6912.jpg

So I turned the clock a few days back, when I was still at home and I was taking a few macro shots at my balcony. Those pictures were meant to be in this post but a mischievous front end and my haste left them unpublished :)

I could have added them later but I though that I'll better let them be and use them in a fruitless day, which come sooner than I thought!



IMG_6931.jpg

IMG_6937.jpg

All the shots above, are taken on a lavender plant. I loved its unusual blooming and I got obsessed with the ants all over it! The little buggers are running like their life depends on it (maybe it does) and capturing a nice shot turned out to be much more challenging than I originally thought. But I kept trying in an almost compulsive way! Finally I felt kind of satisfied but it is up to you to tell me if it was even worth trying.


IMG_6944.jpg

IMG_6946.jpg

The last 3 pics are from a pot with a few tiny flowers. It is not an impressive pot but those colors always make me happy to look!

Have a great week!

IMG_6891.jpg

linebreak.png

All the pictures and the words are mine.

Thank you for reading and if you want to know more about me you can check out my introduction post.

Commenting, upvoting and rebloging are highly appreciated!

Sort:  

I hate it when that happens. I once spent three days camping next to the Pacific Ocean but visibility never got beyond 30m due to all the haze from wildfires (it was so bad the sun was just a faintly glowing spot in the haze) and it was more than a little frustrating.

Ouch, that sounds like 3 terrible days!
Nothing so dramatic here but still it is far from perfect.

In terms of photography, yeah but otherwise three days camping on the beach still beats most other things I could have been doing. Better luck next time!

Haha, indeed! Three days camping by the sea is definitely NOT the worst thing to happen to you:)

I was editing photos today and came across one from that place so I had to share.

smoky_beach_copy.jpg

The steps at the top left lead up to the campground I was staying in, it'd have been an amazing location if not for the smoke and haze.

Wow, I can see what you mean!

I thought this was a lavender plant. These are some immaculate shots man. Sorry to hear about your uncooperative weather... but i wouldn't say it was completely fruitless. I try to remind people sometimes that we have this old-fashioned thing called a memory. Hahaha many people (not saying you) depend too much on taking photos to relive an experience. Sometimes, our eyes and memories are the best cameras ever created.
Hope the weather clears up for you though! Cheers

Haha you are so right! We tend to forget that we have a memory on our own :)
Thank you very much for your comment, it really gladdened my heart!

Don't think i was getting on to you about that though. It's just a sentiment i have had many times with other people. I'm sure y'all are making memories that photos wouldn't do justice to anyhow! Cheers my friend.

Don't worry, I know you meant well!
Cheers!

untitled.gif

At least you were able to post some pictures that needed posting! All those little ants running around are pretty awesome.

Thank you very much, I am glad you like them :)

@tipu curate 🌺

Thank you very much @tipu and @rozku for your support, much appreciated :)