An hour to spare

Last time I visited Heraklion, about a month ago, I had an hour to spare that I decided to spend as a tourist. I always enjoy to wander around with companion only my camera, not only when I travel but even to familiar places that I know very well. There is always something new to see, there is always something different from the last time you were there.

I started my walk from the most recognizable landmark of the city, the Morozini Fountain. We usually refer to it as "the lions" and it has been the favorite meeting point for many generations of locals and visitors.

IMG_0249.jpg

IMG_0236.jpg

IMG_0246.jpg

IMG_0255.jpg

IMG_0242.jpg

IMG_0230.jpg

A few meters away is the Loggia of Heraklion, probably the finest Venetian building in Crete, designed by the same architect as the fountain, Francesco Morosini.

IMG_0228.jpg

IMG_0221.jpg

IMG_0218.jpg

IMG_0266.jpg

IMG_0268.jpg

IMG_0265.jpg

IMG_0272.jpg

IMG_0271.jpg

I followed the 25th August Street, passing from the impressive Cathedral of Saint Titos and found myself to the Venetian harbor for the finale of my little tour.

IMG_0211.jpg

IMG_0282.jpg

IMG_0292.jpg

IMG_0284.jpg

IMG_0303.jpg

IMG_0285.jpg

IMG_0302.jpg


All the pictures and the words are mine.

Thank you for reading and if you want to know more about me you can check out my introduction post.

Commenting, upvoting and rebloging are highly appreciated!

Sort:  

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you very much for your support @qurator and @ackhoo :)

I really liked post-processing here and subtle raised shadows, don't know if you do it manually or it's a preset but I like results!

Thank you @witkowskipawel I am glad you like it :)
I have a few lightroom presets that I use occasionally but most of them mess with the colors too much so I prefer to edit the curves manually.

Yeah I don't use presets myself at all and always do it manually every session, but I noticed that I keep doing same changes over and over again so I guess I could make a preset out of it 😅 On your shots I really liked the water colour and generally all shots that are in full sun 😀 well done

Hi Stefanos. I love the idea of taking an hour and walking around a city that is very familiar. Upcoming @photogames challenge. It is fun to see the city though your eyes and great photography.

I love giving inspiration for photogames! Are they coming soon?

Good question. Both @jarvie and I have been so distracted by Splinterlands. The pre-sale of the new deck of cards comes out soon. I am hoping after that we can start talking about it again and figure out how we can make it sustainable and run without so much work from my end.

The architecture in those buildings is pretty cool.

Yes, I really like them!