Scrappy brief

If you follow me for some time you should know that I used to work for a travel magazine and I have spent 3 years traveling all over Greece taking pictures of a great variety of destinations. One thing I like to do on my spare time is to open old folders and re-live those travels by re-editing some of the shots I took back then! Sometimes the memories are very strong and I don't need any other info to write a post but sometimes I have to do some googling about the place I have visited. And there are times, like today, that I am shocked by the scrappy and incomplete brief I had before my visit!

_MG_6676.jpg

_MG_6673.jpg

It was a nice day of May, ten years ago. I was at Rhodes island and the plan of the day was to visit the Filerimos monastery, a few km away from the town. Sounded like a routine shooting, one more of the countless monasteries I have taken pictures of...

_MG_6663.jpg

The cobbled path in front of the entrance was intriguing though and anyway I had to follow all those people going that way! What I didn't know was that I was walking on the "route of Martyrdom" or "via Dolorosa", a road under the shade of pine trees dedicated to Jesus Christ's suffering, leading to a 17 meters (around 56 foot) high cross! I have to admit that I didn't even noticed the copper engravings on the side of the road that illustrate the way to crucifixion in 14 articulate representations. You can see one of them in the picture below that I included in my picture accidentally :)

_MG_6668.jpg

The path was made by the Italian rulers of the island between 1912 and 1945 but the cross itself was re-made in the 90s since the original one was destroyed during World War II. Inside there is a staircase that leads to the top, providing a panoramic view of the whole area, till the Turkish coastline! (One more thing I have missed!)

_MG_6672.jpg

At the entrance of the monastery there was a peacock checking the traffic while some others were in a more district position!

_MG_6660.jpg

_MG_6652.jpg

The Filerimos monastery is built on top of ancient ruins so we are talking about a location with 30 centuries of use as a place of worship. The buildings standing today are only 5-6 centuries old 😃, renovated by the Italians. The ruins at the picture below are from the ancient temple dedicated to Zeus and Athena and it is dated at the 4th century BC. A ton of history in layers! And as I learned today there were a lot more cool stuff to take picture of that I missed but I already told you, I haven't done my homework :)

_MG_6635.jpg

_MG_6640.jpg

_MG_6654.jpg

_MG_6643.jpg

_MG_6649.jpg

_MG_6645.jpg

I continued my day driving around and I stopped for a quick shot of the temple of Apollo Pythios at the ancient acropolis of Rhodes but my mind was already to my next, crucial appointment...

_MG_6681.jpg

... at one of the best seafood restaurants of the island!

_MG_6738.jpg

_MG_6746.jpg


All the pictures and the words are mine.

Thank you for reading and if you want to know more about me you can check out my introduction post.

Commenting, upvoting and rebloging are highly appreciated!

Sort:  

Nice shots!
You covered everything here.
Architecture is nice, but food looks even nicer :)

Haha yes, food always looks nicer :)
Thank you for stopping by @crazy-andy !

Hi @fotostef,
Great to see you using the #travelfeed tag! We launched the #travelfeed curated tag more than 3 years ago and have been supporting the best travel blogs on Hive ever since. But did you know that TravelFeed has evolved? Based on the feedback of thousands of Hive travel bloggers we created TravelFeed.io.

TravelFeed.io brings together all the benefits of Hive decentralized blogging with features that you as a travel blogger will love: Photo galleries, Instagram embeds, custom maps and more. We also offer many of the features you love on Peakd such as drafts and post scheduling. And if you want, you can even use our easy site builder to set up your own travel blog on your own domain which can be a great way to generate a passive income from your blog!

Unfortunately, focussing on developing the best platform for travelers means that we no longer curate the #travelfeed tag. But, you can log in with your Hive account on TravelFeed.io to publish your next travel post, and it will be posted to Hive automatically! Every day, we select the best posts and reward them with an upvote and added visibility.

We would love to see you on TravelFeed.io soon :)