Why isn't there a Photography (lovers) tribe?

image.png
source

I've been active on Hive for almost 1/2 year now. I started out following the different photography communities and posting some pictures myself. I really like the idea of a social platform and engagement.
On my Hive journey I soon discovered other communities and also tribes. I checked out other interfaces these tribes use and since I also like cryptocurrencies I'm using Leofinance as well.

What really amazed me on Leofinance was the enormous number of comments compared to what I see on the rest of Hive.
About three weeks ago I posted a blog about the small amount of comments on photography posts:
https://peakd.com/hive-194913/@friendlymoose/let-s-comment-more-on-photos

One of the reasons of the huge engagment on Leofinance is their Flat Curation Curve.
This type of curation stimulates manual curation and because the time of your vote doesn't matter anymore reduces the need for auto voting.

I see more and more tribes being started up with their own token and interface like Sports, Technology etc.
I was wondering if it could be useful to create a tribe dedicated to photography.
I really don't know how much work it will be, but maybe it's something to discuss...
What are your idea's about this?

Sort:  

I hope the curation curve will be changed with the next HF. Many have been talking about it. It just doesn't encourage or reward manual curation.
But... auto votes will stay. The difference is that they will not be rewarded more for being auto.

Is there a roadmap for the next HF and can we influence that?
And what do you think about the idea of a photography tribe?

As far as I know there is not roadmap yet. Not published officially anyway (or I didn't see it). Keep an eye on Blocktrades account, I think he posts weekly updates.

There was a photography tribe in Steem. If someone would have the skills to do it in Hive and make it look different than Hive with its own perks, it could work. Leo guys are doing great job on that.

Thanks for the tip about the blocktrades account.

There was a photography tribe in Steem. If someone would have the skills to do it in Hive and make it look different than Hive with its own perks, it could work. Leo guys are doing great job on that.

I think especially with photography you can benefit from a dedicated tribe. I don't know how much effort it will be to accomplish this. I'm not a blockchain developer.

Setting up a tribe is not very hard I guess if you have some skills.
I think it is more challenging after. To make it attractive and offering something specific. Improving the place for the users needs. And of course to make the token worth more than a few cents.

There was a Photography tribe on Hive, but it was run by a scammer that just ended up tanking the price of the token when he started dumping everything from the main account. I think that a lot of people just dont see the need for it right now. A lot of the Hive Engine tokens are a waste of money and there is no purpose of them other than to dump for Hive.

I didn't know that story yet. That's pretty sad.
I also gathered a lot of 'tribe tokens'. For some I don't even know how I got them. But Leo is a positive exception. In levels of engagement that tribe is doing quite good.
But with the this history I understand the hesitation for staring a new photography tribe.