You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Things that go bang

The .45 ACP is glorious and has the punch for most occasions. A very nice round indeed, one doesn't need to be American to like it, or have firearms that use it.

I enjoy reloading to be honest. The handgun calibres are a little boring as I use a progressive press, but the precision rifle rounds I do all manually and love the process; tedious yes, but it's relaxing.

Sort:  

The endless debate of e=m⋅v² and capacity vs. f=m⋅v plus "WON TWO WORLD WARS!" I'd probably prefer .45 ACP in the woods here in bear country, but I really want a 10mm. A friend had a CZ 75 clone in The Centimeter that was glorious, and a 1911 clone that was wonderfully customized. He favored full-power loads, not the cheap commercial .40 S&W Long. A new gun plus all the support material on top of a new caliber is a low priority expenditure right now, though options are improving slowly. Hell, Hi-Point is making a 10mm! Y'know, in case you need a boat anchor after shooting a hostile grizzly.

We don't have the bear issue...if I was to shoot a koala bear I'd be sad. But yeah, it's a great round for that and 9mm isn't. It's horses for courses I guess, and the right choice must be made...Sadly, many do not either buying too much or too little and having to re-buy. I've picked up many firearms in this way, from people who got the wrong thing for their needs.

10mm...Nice. I've fired a few and liked it. Lolled at boat anchor!

It's a straight blowback 10mm. No delay cam or lever. No locked breech. Just mass and inertia to contain the pressure.

It's not a firearm I think I'd ever own personally, but the 10mm's I operated were effective, of that there is no doubt.