You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A good excuse

I agree with you. But then again, it depends on schools of thought. In stoicism - of which, without knowing it, you may be a member just like me, at a high percentage rate - we advocate authenticity and virtuous living, independent of the gaze of others. From this perspective, one's image is not a priority, since what counts is living in accordance with one's own values.

Confucianism, on the other hand, emphasizes social harmony and respect for others. As a result, giving a good image is seen as a duty to society.

I don't know if everything can be reduced to philosphy. But I do think it's an excellent way of gaining a better understanding of the world around us, and a better grasp of how people behave.

Sort:  

As you put it, I definitely resonate with stoicism, although I have never read a stoic philosopher in my life :)