Gorgeous Sighting of Sea Steaming In The Air

Back in January I stumbled upon a sunny day and decided to take a short trip to get some good shots somewhere hopefully. While I drove on the coastal road, I noticed the sea steaming. I was up on a coastal cliff so the view to this was awesome. Of course, I stopped there to have some photos taken of this.

This crazy sight is created by very cold weather. Since the sea temperature is not nearly as cold than the cold temperature of the air makes the sea condensate in the air. The weather was clear but above the sea, it looked very cloudy. This is all the water that has steamed from the sea and created these clouds.

Kinda looks like an apocalyptic storm approaching.
FRS_4657.jpg


FRS_4659.jpg

This is called a sea effect. If the wind was from the sea direction then it would have pushed the clouds above the mainland and coastal areas would have seen a heavy snowfall. This happened the next day of which I too have photos of.

FRS_4664.jpg


FRS_4660.jpg

It was extremely cold and windy so my hands got frozen fast so I didn't spend a lot of time taking photos there.

FRS_4661.jpg


FRS_4662.jpg

Waves had broken up the ice and eroded those to be round-shaped.

FRS_4663.jpg




Untitled-1.png

Sort:  

During my trips to the mountains, I used to love getting by the lake before the sunrise as that would end up with a similar view over the water as yours. Nature is such a great place, too bad many of us don't know to appreciate it even in 2024 when we expect some evolution for people :)

Words of wisdom! I just came back from the beach. Had a small drink and watched the sunset into the sea. Nature is amazing.

These are really amazing pictures you are really able to take I must confess

I love the beautiful pictures you were able to take. They looked fascinating

Thanks, looks pretty epic yeah.

I have never seen a sight like this before and I didn't know that this kind of thing happens on the seashore, but after seeing it, my knowledge has increased.

Yep. Very cold temperatures are needed for this to happen.

Wow the last photo with the round broken ice looks like these are frozen lily pads :)

Funnily enough, I thought about the same thing 😅

 28 days ago  Reveal Comment

Yeah, it's visible on a larger scale on a sea.