Nothern Lights Season is A Go!

It is the beginning of this time of the year when our nights get fully dark again here in Estonia which means that Northern Lights, also known as aurora borealis can be seen again. Two days again the chances for seeing these were great and I decided to drive to the nearby beach to get a great view.
When I arrived, I did see a little bit of the green glow.

FRS_4316-Enhanced-NR.jpg

As always, clouds are my greatest enemy on nights like this. It doesn't matter how great the lights are in the sky if the cloud cover is heavy then I'm out of luck. Unfortunately, some heavy clouds moved in and I saw that it will start raining soon so I snapped this photo of the clouds and left.

All photos are long exposures.
FRS_4325-Enhanced-NR.jpg

Later in the night, I was still up at around 2 AM. I saw from live cameras that new lights action flared up and I ran outside, at the front of my home and I was lucky that the sky had cleared up. I immediately saw the lights dancing in the sky.
It was not the best show I had seen by far but still pretty good.
FRS_4338-Enhanced-NR.jpg

The stronger action only lasted about a minute or so. Often strong aurora can appear suddenly and be gone as fast as it came on. Here are some more vertical photos I took.

FRS_4340-Enhanced-NR.jpg


FRS_4342-Enhanced-NR.jpg

The northern lights season is just starting so we have many months ahead when we have the possibility to see great aurora actions. In the next two years sun activity cycle is getting to the max so that increases the chances greatly.




Untitled-1.png

Sort:  

A very beautiful natural phenomenon. In your photos everything looks like in a fairy tale. Thank you very much.

Thanks. The setting could have been better but I didn't want to drive anywhere again.

The views are extremely amazing, nothing beats nature and its beauty

You did well with the shots, I must say. Thankyou for this

Thanks, the aurora is always cool to photograph.

Clouds are annoying when you try to photograph what is behind them, but I must say that that photo is pretty good too.

I had no idea that you can see Northern Lights in Estonia. Somehow I thought this was only possible in the Nordics and on Island.

You may say that this was not the best show that you've seen, but I still find it pretty amazing as I have never seen any 😁

Thank you!

Heh, we are so close no nordic countries that we can yeah. Often the lights are not that intense that you see in northern Norway or Iceland but when stronger storm hits, its over our heads. We are at the same latitude as southern Norway.
Latvia and even Lithuania can see northern lights if the storm is very strong. I saw aurora photos from Poland and Ukraine last year.

Last season we saw at least 3 times when the lights were strong and overhead. Hoping to capture some cool action in the coming months ahead, until the time our sky does not get dark anymore.

Great view, where I live there are also auroras, but you have to get up early. Or wait until night

By your username, I can tell you live in Norway. Depends on where you live but Oslo gets a fair share too.

Winter nights are incredibly dark in our region so don't really need to wait until night. After 16.00 it's dark already😅.

Yes, I live in Norway, but in the south, and here they appear rarely, you have to go a bit out of town so that the city lights don't bother you

Pretty much the same here in Estonia, tho if the lights are strong then you can clearly see them even in the city.

I wish you a successful harvest this winter

So cool! I am excited to see more as you take them throughout the season.

Im excited too! Hopes are high, the outcome remains to be seen.

So so stunning. That's one destination I still have high up on my travel list.

Seeing northern lights is sure worth it but if you travel to a location these can be seen, its never a guarantee you will see these.

what ? is this real or some kind of photo manipulation? if real, that's awesome <3

100% real. That's the stuff you see when being up north 😅

When the weather is like this, the cold wind is blowing, there are clouds and people like this, when the sea falls, it feels so much better.

I saw the northern lights too yesterday near Tallinn.

It's great, isn't it! Hoping for much more and stronger action this season.