Back in the Hive - Light Painting on the Go

Traveling and Light Painting

Sorry, for not posting in a few weeks. The reasons are simple. I had a blast traveling and the internet was very spotty, to say the least. Some days it was great some days there was no reception at all. Since I was in South Africa and Zimbabwe there was also power shedding and some unplanned outages. Anyhow, not exactly the Digital Nomad paradise. But for the mind and body and really the soul I got to experience some of the extraordinary.

My travels started in South Africa and to be precise in beautiful Cape Town. A great friend of mine suggested visiting the Banhoek Corner just in the wine lands of Cape Town. So I did and was in for a surprise. A very positive one I must add. I had an incredible time also because of the staff. The hospitality was just .. Anyhow It was awesome and I enjoyed every minute of my stay. You'll understand in a minute.

And I did get around to some Light Painting. Sharing about my passion I got a round a quick intro to what I do. Here are some impressions about this little Guesthouse and some Light Paintings I made during some wine nights.

Sorry, dass ich seit ein paar Wochen nichts mehr gepostet hatte. Ich hatte einfach eine tolle Zeit beim Reisen und das Internet war, gelinde gesagt, sehr ... . An manchen Tagen war es großartig, an anderen Tagen gab es überhaupt keinen Empfang. Da ich in Südafrika und Simbabwe war, gab es auch 'Power-shedding' und einige unerwartete Bonus-Überraschungs-Stromausfälle. Na ja, nicht gerade das digitale Nomadenparadies. Aber für den Geist und den Körper und wirklich die Seele durfte ich Außergewöhnliches erleben.

Meine Reise fing in Südafrika an, genauer gesagt in Kapstadt. Ein guter Freund von mir schlug vor, das Banhoek Corner Guesthouse in den Weinbergen von Kapstadt zu besuchen. Also habe ich es gemacht und wurde positive überrascht. Ich hatte eine unglaubliche Zeit, auch wegen des Staffs. Die Gastfreundschaft war einfach ... Na ja, es war großartig.

Natürlich gabs auch ein bisschen Light Painting. Als ich über meine Leidenschaft erzählt habe, musste ich natürlich auch kurz zeigen wie es geht. Hier sind einige Eindrücke vom Gästehaus und ein paar Light Paintings, die da entstanden sind.

Let's start with a few impressions of the guest house.

Hier mal ein paar Eindrücke von meiner tollen Unterkunft.

Nicely tucked into the Winelands with super cozy rooms. Loved every bit of it!

The rooms are so lovely. I would have stayed in every room a day if I had a chance.

After getting to know some of the staff, some wine with the manager I was asked about my photos and after some wine I said I could simply show you. I placed that Lilly kind of flower at the table, set up the camera, and took a flashlight right there and then. Here are some wine experiments.

Nach ein oder zwei Wein mit der Managerin, wurde ich nach meinen Fotos gefragt, und nach noch ein paar Gläsern Wein sagte ich, ich könnte sie einfach zeigen wie es geht. Ich stellte diese Lilienblüte an den Tisch, richtete die Kamera ein und nahm sofort eine Taschenlampe zur Hand. Hier sind einige Weinexperimente.

The Flower

This was the Lilly in Daylight.

Das Blümchen im Tageslicht.


Light Painting the Lilly

Nothing complicated, just some Light onto the Flowers and be done with it.

So these are very simple examples of Light Painting. The Lens was at F22 and the Camera was at ISO 100. With me applying, the light it took 10 - 20 seconds to be done with it.

Das sind also ein paar einfache Light Painting Beispiele. Die Blende war auf F22 und die Kamera auf ISO 100 eingestellt. Mit Einleuchten, hat es 10 bis 20 Sekunden pro Belichtung gedauert.


At the Pool

I thought I drew a 'B' to resemble the Logo. But I did not have the patience to continue to make it look like the actual logo of the Banhoek Guesthouse. Instead, I just showed how to use the blade thingy. Anyhow the heart worked out right there.

Ich dachte, ich male mal ein 'B', um das Logo nachzuahmen. Geduld hatte ich nicht wirklich, so sah es nicht wirklich aus wie das tatsächliche Logo des Banhoek Guesthouses. Wie auch immer, das mit dem Herz hat super geklappt.


The Chandelier

Since I was totally motivated I wanted to get one more Light Painting. Back in my room, I remembered the chandelier and the ceiling having this cool stuck. Perfect for a little abstract exercise.

Look up!

Da ich total motiviert war, wollte ich noch ein Light Painting machen. Zurück in meinem Zimmer erinnerte ich mich an den Kronleuchter und die Decke, die dieses coole Muster hatten. Perfekt für eine kleine abstrakte Übung.

Abstract Results

At first I just tested the Shadow effects when placing the light from four different angles one direction at the time. At F13 and ISO 100 it took about 56 seconds to complete the lighting test. No specific colors were used.

During my second Light Painting I wanted the gold come out a little nicer, so I used an orange torch to make it more pop.

Zunächst habe ich einfach mal die Schatteneffekte getestet, indem ich das Licht nacheinander aus vier verschiedenen Winkeln platziert habe. Bei F13 und ISO 100 dauerte es etwa 56 Sekunden, um den Beleuchtungstest abzuschließen. Alles einfach mit Weiß.

Im nächsten Light Painting habe ich dann Orange für den Goldeffekt zusätzlich genutzt.

Once I had the rhythm figured out I walked around the bed and my torch almost like a dance. So here you see it with the same setting but It took only 46 seconds after I knew what I was doing.

Nachdem ich den Rhythmus raus hatte, rante ich ums Bett mit meiner Taschenlampe fast wie ein Tanz. Hier seht Ihr das Ergebnis mit den gleichen Einstellungen, aber nur 46 Sekunden Belichtungszeit.

More Color?

I did have a few colored flashlights with me so might as well try it while I am at it. The results are also pretty cool. But certainly a matter of taste.

You decide! What do you like?

Ich hatte ein paar farbige Taschenlampen dabei, also konnte ich es genauso gut auch gleich mal ausprobieren. Die Ergebnisse sind auch ziemlich cool geworden, aber sicherlich ne Geschmacksfrage.

Thank you Caspar for motivating me to visit the Banhoek Guesthouse!

2022_01_gh_divider_light.png

I hope you found these images inspirational. If you have more questions please do not hesitate. I am happy to share my knowledge.

If you think this is Spam, why did you read this far, and why the fuck bother you? Move on from your self-righteous mind state and bury yourself. Don't bother about what others may find interesting. Just stay in your bubble and ...

Cheer Up, Guys!

2022_01_gh_divider_light.png

Gunnar Heilmann Photography

If you are interested in more of my art please also see:
My NFT'S on Rarible
Website YouTube Facebook Page Instagram Feed

divider_lp_1.png

Since I am one of the co-founders of the LightPainters project, I also help and support the Light Painting community as a curator - not only on the Hive.

We are Light Painters

To help and support the LightPainters community here on Hive I would appreciate your delegation of HivePower. Any amount is appreciated. It does not require much to get started, we are happy for any gesture.

How to delegate?
Delegate 50HivePower, [50HP]
Delegate 250HivePower, [250HP]
Delegate 500HivePower, [500HP]
Delegate 1000HivePower, [1000HP]
All the Hive Power will help to upvote the artist's contribution as part of the LightPainters community.

If you feel like light painting could be interesting for you, feel free to check out this crazy bunch at LightPainters on Hive: @lichtkunstfoto, @stepko, @ryuslightworks, @marlasinger666, @lightandlense, @fastchrisuk @fadetoblack, @maxpateau, @lightstabeu, @yo-hoho, @oddballgraphics, @lacelight, @martbarras, @candelart & @rod.evans.visual @dawnoner
I am super happy that more and more find their way here into the hive.

Thank you so much!
divider_lp_1.png

Sort:  

Es sieht aus, als hattest Du Spaß.

Kurz mal allen anderen Scheiss vergessen ;-)
Bin aber wieder in der realen Welt angekommen, immer noch so wie vorher hehe.

Flower petal compositions are cool!

Thanx mate. It was so cool and easy with such beautiful flowers.

The pictures are really beautiful
Happy Easter

Thank you so much. I was super happy to share them with you. Finally home and back to some sort of normality with Internet and such.

Congratulations @gunnarheilmann! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 750 posts.
Your next target is to reach 800 posts.
You made more than 3000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 3500 comments.
You got more than 4000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 4250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the April Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - March 2024 Winners List
Be ready for the May edition of the Hive Power Up Month!