Tokyo Nights - Camera Rotation under the bridge

As I was on my way back to the hotel from shooting the Main entrance of Tokyo Station I had to underpass this bridge. Since I had my camera still on the tripod and the camera rotation tool it was so easy to just shoot the next thing. When you ask me: I can do Camera Rotations all day long.. better do it at night.

Auf dem Weg zurück zum Hotel, nachdem Tokyo-Station fotografiert hatte, musste ich diese Brücke unterqueren. Da meine Kamera immer noch auf dem Stativ und das Rotationtool montiert war, gings so einfach das nächste Motiv zu fotografieren/drehen. Wenn du mich fragst: Ich kann den ganzen Tag lang Kamerarotationen machen... aber wohl eher nachts.

We all know and love the light trails cars produce during a long exposure. When the location is interesting one can show off some really cool results without major effort. If you want something different one needs to level up and get creative. That's why I love Camera Rotations in these situations. So many variables provide you with enough coincidental features. Lots of random unpredictable features in your image make it unique. All the drivers in their cars don't even know that they become part of an art piece. Anyhow ... I love that part.

Wir alle kennen und lieben die Ligh-trails, die Autos während einer Langzeitbelichtung erzeugen. Wenn der Ort interessant ist, kann man wirklich coole Ergebnisse bekommen ohne viel Aufwand. Wer was cooles und etwas anderes will, muss so kreativ werden. Deshalb liebe ich in solchen Situationen Kamerarotationen. Viele zufällige, unvorhersehbare Elemente die dein Bild einmalig werden lassen. Die Autofahrer wissen nicht einmal, dass sie Teil eines Kunstwerks wurden. Wie auch immer ... ich liebe diese Art der Fotografie.

Test Run

Here is a quick test to see how long I can expose without burning the image. What you see here are the first 2stop 180° rotations. The exposure time here is only 14 seconds at ISO 400 with an F7.1 on my lens.

Hier ist ein schneller Test, um zu sehen, wie lange ich belichten kann, ohne das Bild zu überbelichten. Was du hier siehst, sind die ersten beiden 180-Grad-Rotationen im 2-Stopp-Intervall. Die Belichtungszeit beträgt hier nur 14 Sekunden bei ISO 400 und einer Blende von 7.1 auf meinem Objektiv.

SetUp and location

Here you see my setup between the bikes. The bridge I was under caries actually the train tracks that lead straight into the Tokyo Station.

Hier siehst du mein Setup zwischen den Fahrrädern. Die Brücke, unter der ich war, trägt tatsächlich die Gleise, die direkt zum Tokyo-Bahnhof führen.

Here is the bridge during the day.

Hier ist die Brücke tagsüber.

One more then its good.

Once you start spinning you don't stop

One keeps looking out for trucks and busses to see what the next potential features in my foto. Anything that has fancy lights like an ambulance, fire truck, or police car can change the outcome of your image dramatically.

Its almost addictive. Like looking into the fire. you never know whats next and the surprise is always on you!

Man hält ständig Ausschau nach Lastwagen und Bussen, um zu sehen, welche potenziellen Elemente als nächstes in meinem Foto auftauchen könnten. Alles, was auffällige Lichter hat, wie ein Krankenwagen, ein Feuerwehrauto oder ein Polizeiauto, kann das Ergebnis deines Bildes dramatisch verändern.

Es ist fast süchtig machend. Wie ins Feuer zu schauen. Man weiß nie, was als Nächstes kommt, und die Überraschung liegt immer bei dir!

2022_01_gh_divider_light.png

Camera Rotation what?

Camera Rotation is just what you think. During the exposure, the camera is turned in a few angles and while doing so I also light up the scene. Everything is one exposure without any trickery.

Kamera Rotation Light Painting?

Kamera Rotation ist genau was Ihr jetzt denkt. Die Kamera wird während der gesamten Belichtung gedreht und dabei wird von mir die Scene eingeleuchtet.

Not too long ago I wrote up an article on the topic. It has been published on my website and here on Hive as a blog post if you are interested in this technique.

Wenn Ihr an dieser Technik interessiert seid, lest meinen Artikel den Ich zum Thema geschrieben hab. Den gibt's ich auf meiner Website und hier auf Hive. Link unten.

2022_01_gh_divider_light.png

Check out more information about Camera Rotation published on my website and here on Hive as a blog post.

2022_01_gh_divider_light.png

I hope you found these images inspirational. If you have more questions please do not hesitate. I am happy to share my knowledge.

If you think this is Spam, why did you read this far, and why the fuck bother you? Move on from your self-righteous mind state and bury yourself. Don't bother about what others may find interesting. Just stay in your bubble and ...

Cheer Up, Guys!

2022_01_gh_divider_light.png

Gunnar Heilmann Photography

If you are interested in more of my art please also see:
My NFT'S on Rarible
Website YouTube Facebook Page Instagram Feed

divider_lp_1.png

Since I am one of the co-founders of the LightPainters project, I also help and support the Light Painting community as a curator - not only on the Hive.

We are Light Painters

To help and support the LightPainters community here on Hive I would appreciate your delegation of HivePower. Any amount is appreciated. It does not require much to get started, we are happy for any gesture.

How to delegate?
Delegate 50HivePower, [50HP]
Delegate 250HivePower, [250HP]
Delegate 500HivePower, [500HP]
Delegate 1000HivePower, [1000HP]
All the Hive Power will help to upvote the artist's contribution as part of the LightPainters community.

If you feel like light painting could be interesting for you, feel free to check out this crazy bunch at LightPainters on Hive: @lichtkunstfoto, @stepko, @ryuslightworks, @marlasinger666, @lightandlense, @fastchrisuk @fadetoblack, @maxpateau, @lightstabeu, @yo-hoho, @oddballgraphics, @lacelight, @martbarras, @candelart & @rod.evans.visual
I am super happy that more and more find their way here into the hive.

Thank you so much!
divider_lp_1.png

Sort:  

The piece and pictures is a good. I love it. Keep it up

Glad you like it. More good stuff coming.

Congratulations @gunnarheilmann! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with this rare badges

Post with the most upvotes of the day.
Post with the highest payout of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thats a first for me. In all these years unexpected but hey ... cool cool

That's fantastic @gunnarheilmann! It's always a pleasant surprise when hard work and dedication are recognized. Keep up the good work, @gunnarheilmann!

I so much love what you are doing. I have always been interested in photography but the cost of getting a camera is high.

Thanks for sharing

Cheers

well, what I do actually works even with a phone or the cheapest camera. No F1.2 Lens that cost 2000$ is needed. Glad you find it interesting and love my work. See you around and than you for your support.

Hi @gunnarheilmann. I am happy to be a part of this community and hope to make many friends here. Now I start my new life after prison. I will be grateful for your support.

Wow, what a wonderful sight!

Thank you for taking the effort and leave a comment and I am super glad you like it.