Noise reduction in high ISO pictures!

Hello, good morning, how are you?

I am currently working on my photo's from my trip to Marrakesh Morocco!
And that is a big job! The light conditions during this trip were pretty difficult! I took a lot of pictures inside! I went to a couple of museums and gallery's and the place I took this picture, the Bahia palace in Marrakesh! I also shot a lot of pictures at night. And in the small streets in the city center, there the light conditions were also very difficult! Not much sun or very hard shadows! It was a pretty big challenge out there but I learned a lot!

I had to used very high ISO settings in many cases!
And sometimes I forgot to adjust the ISO to normal settings, and that resulted in slightly overexposed photos, ore well-exposed photos, but with seriously noise in them. In any case, it is a lot of work to get the pictures presentable!
In this post I want to show you how I solve the noise issues in Lightroom!

This is the original, unedited RAW image!

ISO 12800 F8 1/50 sec

I was pretty happy with the outcome! The light here is pretty good! But ISO 12800 is absolutely insane! I really needed it because I wanted a sharp model in frame! It all went very quickly, I was waiting for some one to enter! If you zoom in, you see a little bit of movement in the man! I didn't want a to big of a DOF so F8 was the minimum I wanted to have!

LR Noise reduction

There are different way's to get rid of the noise in your pictures! I show you two way's that I often use! First is in LR it self! there are a couple of slides where you can adjust the amount of noise!
Here a closeup of the noise in the original at ISO 12800.
orignal zoomed in

These are the standard settings if I edit my pictures! Noise luminance and color both on 40 and sharpens on 70-80!

Ruis 1b.jpg

AI noise reduction

As you see in this print screen, there is a denoise button that uses AI to edit the noise!
It is a new feature in LR and I am practicing with it to see if using it is an advantage!

Ruis 1c.jpg

And I can say that it looks pretty good! But still I put the sharpens slide on 80!
Down side of this new feature is that LR takes a lot of time to get this processed! Well, not LR it self but my computer! I really need an upgrade! specially with all the new Ai features that are on here! My PC is so extremely slow!

As you can see, 49 minutes to get the noise out! It doesn't really take that long but my computer is at it at least 20 minutes!

RUIS 1.jpg

I love to see the difference!

RUIS 2.jpg

I can let it run in the background, but then my computer is so extremely slow! That just doesn't work! If I use this feature, I let him denoise two pictures at the same time and go do the disses or some laundry!

2X9A0221-Verbeterd-NR.jpg

The settings for this picture are here! I do use presets, it's a good start for editing, but eventually I keep editing until I think it's fine!

Edited.jpg

Thank you for reading my post! And I am really curious what you thoughts about this post are!
Do you want to see more posts of my editing processes? Is there something that you want to know about photo processing, let me know in the comments! maybe I an make a post about it some time!

And if you want to see all the places I have ever been to, just click on my Pinmapple profile!

And if you want to follow my daily life, I often post stories and pictures off all the tings I do in life on my Instagram account!

Sort:  

Very interesting and useful post @haastrecht friend!

!discovery 20
!VSC

@jlinaresp has sent VSC to @haastrecht

This post was rewarded with 0.1 VSC to support your work.
Join our photography communityVisual Shots
Check here to view or trade VSC Tokens
Be part of our Curation Trail


@jlinaresp ha enviado VSC a @haastrecht

Éste post fue recompensado con 0.1 VSC para apoyar tu trabajo.
Únete a nuestra comunidad de fotografía Visual Shots
Consulte aquí para ver o intercambiar VSC Tokens
Se parte de nuestro Trail de Curación


Uses: 1/25

Thank you, and you are welcome. I think i will make more of these.

Great idea! A spectacular perspective in action.

Thank you 💪

https://reddit.com/r/blogs/comments/196kgow/noise_reduction_in_high_iso_pictures/
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @jlinaresp ) sharing the post on Reddit as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

💪💪💪

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

💪💪💪