Shooting my 90 year old camera! Agfa box 54!

A couple of weeks a go i went to a secondhand store and there i found this beauty!

20211017_142732.jpg

An Agfa box 54 camera from 1930! This camera has got 2 settings, bulp and... yes what is it... i read online that the shutter speed was something like 1/60 of a second and other site tells me it's more like 1/30 of a second.

I couldn't find anything about the diaphragm and just measured the aperture! my guess was F11, i really don't know :p
I went to an open area in the nature reserve near my house and brought my canon with me so i could find a compositing where i needed a shutter speed of 1/60 of a second.

For now i could only find a 100 ISO film so i needed to go out in the middle of the day! Not the best time to do some photographing but it just was a good test

The shutter button was not a button but a more like a slider, i tested wen there was no film in there but outside it got stuck a little so the first picture faild

1a.jpg
I really wanted to have a picture of that tree because i have many pictures of it so i took another one! This time the shutter was not stuck!

1b.jpg

When i saw the negatives i saw there were many scratches on the photo's. When i opened the camera i saw the roller over which the photo was transported was not properly attached. I fixed that again so the next roll should go well.
I actually wanted to take pictures where you can't see that it was taken now. So no technology in the picture. I tink I did good :)

Here are the rest of the photo's!

2a.jpg

3a.jpg

4a.jpg

5a.jpg

6a.jpg

7a.jpg

Sort:  

This is awesome. I love using older cameras to shoot film. This one looks like it could be a ton of fun and you can create some spooky photos in the dark room using diffusion or other techniques.

I have never worked in a darkroom before! Maybe will try that some time!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Looks like a very interesting camera to experiment with. You did great with the photos considering the limitations, look forward to seeing more!

Thank you, i bought film with iso 400 so now i can go in to the woods!

Those are fantastic! Very crisp photos for the camera; I'm sure good film helped, too.

I have a camera just like it, and a few others, that I keep trying to find a reason to take out to use. This is some good inspiration!

It is really fun to do, and now i am not coming home with multiple Giga bits of pictures 😂I discoverd that i really was looking for a good composition and that was fun to do.