A Rat's Eye View of Garden Aesthetics

It took me a while to decide which animal was the right height for when your camera is sitting on the ground. I like the idea of a rat's-eye view.

After focussing on just grass a couple of weeks ago I decided to broaden my view a little. The aim here was to photograpically explore our garden from ground level using a telephoto lens. This combination has great potential for a more unusual aesthetic where blur is perhaps even more important than whatever is in focus. I wanted to take photographs through plants to get blur in both foreground and background. Layers of smooth, natural colour with a little bit of focus to set the scene. A touch of breeze added to the possibilities.

All these photographs were taken with my Sony RX10 zoomed to its fullest extent (x25). Most were from ground level but not all of them - so this rat can climb and has telephoto-vision!

Exactly what they are photographs of is not important to me except for it all being from our garden. It's more about the aesthetics and the atmosphere of a place. I think only one of the plants deserves some explanation. The hair-like tangles are aerial roots hanging from a weeping fig tree.

There were two aspects of this technique that I found particularly enjoyable. One was the range of possibilities for the background. Being at ground level meant that the camera could be pointed upwards and still photograph the ground plants. This brought into play patches of sky poking through more distant plants.

The second fun part was simply the amazing range of possibilities that only become apparent when you get down and look through the viewfinder (a screen that can swivel was a great help here). Just changing focus could produce a significantly different shot but even a slight change of angle sometimes made an enormous difference. This easy variety with quickly changing compositions made it always interesting and I could happily spend thirty minutes sprawled on the ground exploring less than a square metre of grassy bank from different angles.

However, living in the tropics (Thailand) is a bit of a problem. It doesn't take long for the sun to get too high in the morning or disappear in the evening so we never get anywhere near a golden hour. Sometimes it feels more like twenty minutes. And the ants are always active so taking care not to lie across their trails is always a priority.

Sort:  

Now that's a world I can get lost in. When I was in the UK under lockdown in 2020 I found myself getting up close with plants like that. It was a way to refocus on anything but the anxiety of the moment. To watch a sunrise AND stare at a fuzzy dandelion seemed a much better option than thinking about the end of the world.

Having a good-sized garden really helped back then. Plus the fact that all the wildlife was oblivious to what was happening to us added a touch of perspective.

As long as an ant doesn't bite your nose, you're good.

This is a very good concept. Well done for this serie. I love the color tones. I am also trying to get deeper in tho details of the forest. I still have nothing to show because. I think that because of the usage of the wrong lens. 14-35 and my 50 mm. I am going to try it with my soomlens to. Thank you

My pleasure. I look forward to seeing your results!

These are some fantastic shots! I really enjoyed the perspectives.

Many thanks!!!

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Such an appreciation of nature, this rat has.... :)

My initials are actually R A for Robert Adrian, and my father has often said he wishes they'd added Trevor to make me RAT.

Very nice photos from this special rat’s point of view. Perhaps, a cat would look at garden quite differently.

I believe you are right. We don't have any pets but the local cats come stalking birds and the dogs come for a poo. Ironically, I think they like it here because we have no pets.

Your garden is popular with local animals. Hope you’ll have more interesting wild birds.

Yes, there's always room for more.