Scenes from a Bike - Edition 11 - Sutton Street

Header  (1 of 1).jpg

Welcome to The 11thEdition of the series - Scenes from a bike

This Edition facts:

Location: A sneaky little trip today, I needed to pop up to a shop a surburb over so I decided to combine it with a little trip to Sutton Street (and surrounds) which is a little pocket of old industrial buildings in the inner north of Melbourne hemmed in by a freeway overhead, a train line beneath it and a major shortcut type road, it's not pleasant to ride through particularly on a Friday in rush-hour.

Date & Weather: Friday 9th of September - yeah I should be at work but whatever no one else seems to be working today, it's sunny and close enough to 4pm, and nothing happens past four on a friday.

Equipment: I've gone simple today - My Fujifilm X-T3, and the 16-80mm Zoom

The Concept & Finances: The concept is simple, I've bought an electric bike, on this bike I explore my hometown, Melbourne Australia and take photos, Priority 1 - Finding new places in Melbourne, Priority 2 - taking better photos, Bonus - Earn back the cost of the bike by creating content and getting paid for it on HIVE. The bike cost $1,100 USD. So far I've earned $69.64 from the previous 9 posts meaning I've paid for 6% of the bike and I have $1,030 to go. This is going to take some time, but this is all bonus money, the joy is in the taking of photos. Also if you look really close at the header photo which is a panorama you can see my bike lying on the groun at the bottom of the hill.

Other stuff: The shop I was going to is a second-hand Lego shop, which was fascinating. Did you know there is a Lego Community on Hive?

Let's see what else I found.

Art (1 of 1).jpg

f14, 320ISO, 1/500, 49mm
There always seems to be a 'street art' shot in these trips, this place it ripe for some large scale works, although I note a brand new fancy fence surrounding this, suggesting something it coming.

Producers with Bird (1 of 1).jpg

f11, 320ISO, 1/500, 35mm
This is the main building we are dealing with today, The Victorian Producer Co-op No 5 store, the producers were a group of wool farmers, this amongst at least 4 other buildings was were the stored wool. The Building was constructed in 1956, it's empty currently and has been for years. For Melbournians this is the building that used to have the giant billboard on it that you could see from the freeway as you came in from the Airport just after the 'Tunnel of lights' And yes the bird is deliberate in this shot

Build (1 of 1).jpg

f10, 320ISO, 1/500, 28mm
A closer look at the building shows so amazing beauty in the rock throwing abilities of 'kids'

Gates are closed (1 of 1).jpg

f11, 320ISO, 1/500, 60mm
Is this a ghost sign of a ghost sign

In case of flooding (1 of 1).jpg

7.1f, 320ISO, 1/250, 25mm
Moving on from the No 5 store to this, a little substation maybe at the end of a dead-end street under a freeway next to a train line - I think that is the definition of unloved.

Rollerdoor (1 of 1).jpg

f11, 250ISO, 1/250, 24mm
This is across the road and is 64 Sutton street which has undergone a little bit of gentrification - there is a cafe, a dance school, a boxing gym and a few more things in this building, but mostly I like the incredibly faded rainbow colour scheme.

Stephen (1 of 1).jpg

f5, 320ISO, 1/250, 54mm
Cyber security - warehouse style.

Sort:  

I liked your photos, but maybe it's a problem with my screen, I couldn't see your bike in the first image. I'm going to have to sit down and adjust the colors. Heaven was really in the pictures. I wish you the best of luck raising the money.