My Photograph Journey 01: In the Month of August

Screenshot (18).png

My aunt wearing a Balinese costume, the picture has taken before the parade.

August has come.

A special month here for Indonesian, because we celebrate our independence day in this month.

Indonesia declared independence on August 17th, 1945 after being colonized for more than 3 centuries.

We do a flag ceremony every August 17th to commemorate the battle and the victims from the war during colonialism. And, what I like the most from this celebration is the cultural parade.

People cosplay as they want and march down the street. It's kinda sad that we're being tortured with COVID-19 today, so it's impossible to do a parade this year, and last year too actually.

But I really, really want to share with you the pictures of the cultural parade I took a few years ago. I'm not a pro cameraman so I don't think these pictures are aesthetic enough to be published in the photography community, but I've tried, lol.

So here we go!!

First, I'm gonna start with the figure of Indonsia's national symbol, Garuda. It made with coconut tree's leaves. Doesn't it look so cool?

Screenshot (11).png

Children in the marching band.

Screenshot (16).png

Dude, they have a giant rat, lol.

Screenshot (13).png

Let's say, this is our local Victoria's Secret Fashion Show session.

Screenshot (12).png

And this is the most hilarious picture I could ever take. The figure supposed to be one of our national hero called Imam Bonjol, but that was so creepy.

Screenshot (14).png

The real image of Imam Bonjol is here i bellow.

Tuanku Imam Bonjol

That was a litle glimpse of we, Indonesian celebrate our independence day. Do you guys here also celebrate your national day?

Sort:  

https://twitter.com/hirocchihiro/status/1427106652302438402
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.