Photography Lovers End of Year Contest

in Photography Lovers2 years ago (edited)

Over the year, I have taken a bunch of pictures, some are good while others are utterly horrifying to look at. Yet each one describes a story and a place in your life when you took them, and that is what makes every single camera shot all the while. Pictures are fun to take even if you are bad at taking them, I find myself taking 40 shots and only one coming out half decent but feeling like I won the lottery.

This year was a rough one on my best pictures, I had to search far and wide for some good ones that seemed worth posting about as I didn't take as many as I had thought. But without further ado...

July 2021

IMG_1278.jpg

IMG_1273.jpg

While out with some friends from out-of-state, we had gone to "The Tridge" located in Michigan in which we took some friend pictures and I was able to capture these two gems. While growing up, I always wanted to take a low-level picture of a bridge as I felt it was such an amazing shot and here I am 20 years old making my (kind of) dream come true. I know I am a plebian, but this was shot with an iPhone XR with Apple's onboard editing suite.

August 2021

IMG_1433.jpg

August was a great time for me, I made my biggest adult decision yet (besides college) and bought a car pretty much completely in cash negating a need for a loan. Although I did put a loan out to build credit but I didn't necessarily need one. I love this picture as I feel like it catches the excitement I had at the time and I don't think my positioning could have been better for the picture I was trying to get. As most of these are, this was taken on iPhone XR and edited using the Apple photo-editing software.

September 2021

IMG_1539.jpg

IMG_1546.jpg

These pictures have a pain of a backstory, I took them when I was feeling good at 2 AM after leaving the gym. My phone just wasn't having a good day and glare had ruined 90% of the pictures I took, I am a noob to photography so I could be the one doing something wrong. Always down for pointers in the comments! I tend to go for a "cold" feel with my pictures, but I chose to run with some realistic coloring and a super warm version that I ended up loving how it came out.
My favorite out of the two of course is the second one listed, it is a style I've never done before editing-wise, and love it for some odd reason. Am I the only one that thinks this? How do you guys feel about that picture? Shot on iPhone XR with Apple editing suite.

December 2021

IMG_0710.jpg

Last second I was going to ignore this one and not post it, but I do feel like it has some redeeming qualities and it is a runner-up to an idea that I want to do in the future and master.
The idea was to take a pic with no vehicle tracks, under a bright light that seems out of nowhere with snowflakes dropping heavy, I did not get that but I am proud of how it came out on my first try. This is also my first picture with a legitimate camera so I set a benchmark to beat the next time I get out there. The sky did not help me one bit on this one. I do not know the exact name, but this was taken with a Canon, (Super-Shot?) It is a cheap couple hundred dollar camera and I finished with an Apple edit as always.

Later December 2021

IMG_1814.jpg

I love this picture soo much! Especially this year, everyone around me hasn't been feeling the Christmas spirit and it doesn't help that snow isn't on the ground until 2 days before Christmas. I had lost the Christmas spirit this year but getting this shot and snow dropping just instantly put me in a better mood. I was inside of the tech office so you can see reflections but the flakes and coloring just look amazing to me. Looks straight out of a Hallmark Christmas card or something. Unfortunately Christmas day we had nothing at all with high temperatures, but there was an effort, I cant hate nature for that. Taken with iPhone XR and Apple's editing suite.


I do plan to start using Photoshop and other products to help elevate my pictures to the next level, but I just started and hopefully, I can become decent with picture-taking before spending all of that time editing and ending up throwing the picture out. Sorry for all of the car pictures, I thought I took more nature pictures but I guess not.


Thanks for reading!
Until next time...

UpdatedPeakDBanner-01.png

Sort:  

Nice entry! Glad to see some introspective commentary to go with some cool shots! Thanks for sharing.

That first bridge photo is hard!
Nice to see the Challenger isn't afraid of the snow.
2022 is about to be crazy!

Haha thanks! When I get in the mood, I'll go off taking pictures and repeat until I find the best. I get really into it, and act like a professional, when I'm obviously not.

Oh no she is, but im slowly pushing the comfort zone to make things work. Ngl I almost bought a decom. crown vic as a beater car (work on RWD and not worry about crashing with it)

You dont even know 😉

I've been wanting to get some pictures of the Tridge to share on here for a while now, but I just never seem to get around to it. I think I was trying to explain it to @tattoodjay a while ago, but I was never able to really put it in words. That is a really awesome picture at the end. I really like the way the editing turned out.

You should! It's a great place, for taking pictures and just walking around. Thanks! Crazy that picture looks as good as it does when being shot through glass and weird lighting at the time.

Dear @iikrypticsii,

Do you mind supporting the Hive Authentication Services proposal? That would be much appreciated!
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/194

I wish you all the best for 2022! Have a Happy New Year!

Congratulations @iikrypticsii! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 3
Happy New Year - Feedback from the first Hive Power Up Day of 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!