Dried Lake

One of the coldest shots I have ever taken. Looking across frozen prayer flags to the 'Dried Lake' (5297m/17319 ft) and beyond towards Changtse (7553m/24780 ft) in Tibet. You can see the Khumbu Icefall making its way down to the right of the photo with Everest just off frame to the right. The photo was taken from the pre- dawn summit of Kala Pattar (5545m/18192ft) after climbing up with headtorch. I had spent a week over 5000m or 16400 ft at this stage. You have half the oxygen at 5000m as you do at sea level and it starts to take its toll on your body.

Its a long exposure I took on Fuji Velvia slide film. I have left the characteristic purple cast that was a trait of Velvia when you did a long exposure during blue hour. I am sure anyone who shot with it will remember the colour cast on anything over about 20 seconds. It reminds me of a quieter era of photography when sharing photos socially involved a few quiet drinks and a slide night!

DriedLake.jpg

If you would like to learn a little bit more about my background in photography you can read the interview @photofeed did with me here.

Robert Downie
Love Life, Love Photography

All images in this post were taken by and remain the Copyright of Robert Downie - http://www.robertdowniephotography.com

Sort:  

Wonderful shot and impressive adventure...

Thanks you so much for sharing.

Have a great day.

Thanks. Thanks for stopping by!

Great shot!
But Tibet brings me sad memories of a good friend who died while hiking the K2 Magic Line

That is sad to hear. Did they fall or was it altitude sickness based?

He just recovered from an avalanche the day before and then started feeling bad, he suffered stomach flu and they just could not move him nor send a doctor, it was too high. His partner just was by his side until he died and then buried him.
https://www.desnivel.com/expediciones/manel-para-siempre-en-el-k2/

Man that hurts. May he rest in peace.

Interesting shot with very original mood. Good job!

a really cool shot it is as well, besides a cold shot ;) what a picture!

Thanks for stopping by.

Just amazing, I envy you, because I think that I've never could get there.
So beautiful capture, congrats!

Thanks. Are you in lockdown where you are?

Yes, since 14 of March 🤦🏼‍♀️, I'm already getting crazy hahaha

Thinking about how cold it would have been is making me hurt as I was cold when I woke up this morning and am rugged up now and it doesn't even get that cold here in the grand scheme of things XD

That purple light is magical, I'm really glad there's people like you that brave environments like this to bring spectacular shots to those of us who will never get to see it (in my case because I wouldn't brave those temperatures even if I had the means).

Glad you like it. I love being up in the mountains no matter how cold ;-)

Very beautiful and yet very inhospitable place @intrepidphotos and I bet that there is a thin oxygen too up there.

Thanks. Hope your ok mate.

Yes thanks, I just praying not to catch the corona :|