Admiring Some Logs on the Beach

During one of our visits to Winkle Spruit in Amanzimtoti, just south of Durban, South Africa, we went to Winkle Rocks. Winkle Rocks is a beautiful rock formation just below St. Winifred's Beach in the Winkle Spruit area.

These photos were taken after we've had some bad weather and stormy seas. A lot of debris came down the rivers and washed out on the beaches.

Yet, some of these logs created the opportunity to get some nice photos, creating a beauty of their own.

This piece of wood was solidly planted into the sand. I have no idea if it was at the hands of some human being or how it ended up in this position.

DSC_2447.jpg


Although it is visible in the photo above, looking from a different angle in the next photo, you can see two logs sticking out from behind the rocks as well.

DSC_2448.jpg


A little more to the right, this log was lying on the rocks.

DSC_2453.jpg


Looking at the same log from a different angles...

DSC_2495.jpg


DSC_2479.jpg


Getting up close to this log, I was able to capture a little splash too...

DSC_2464.jpg


I found another log between the rocks which fascinated me...

DSC_2473.jpg


The combination of the log and the rocks around it provided a nice frame to get a photo of a little pool that was forming behind it as the surf came out onto the beach.

DSC_2483.jpg


The same pool is visible in the next photo, but it had a smooth surface by now.

DSC_2484.jpg


I loved all the detail in the rough wood at the bottom end of the log...

DSC_2485-2.jpg


To end this post, let's take a closer look at the detail at the bottom of the log...

DSC_2487.jpg

DSC_2486.jpg

And that's it for today, folks.

Thank you for reading my post! I do appreciate it!

Sort:  

@jacoalberts
Much impressive and gorgeous view specially the sight In which water is hitting the stones. Photographic skill looks very deep and awesome

I'm glad you enjoyed my photos, @sahilkhan! Thank you for the feedback! I do appreciate it!

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you, @ewkaw, and the @qurator Team, for manually curating my post! I do appreciate it!

Amanzimtoti is one of the many beaches we visit when I was a child. Still love that place although I am a pensioner now.

Hi, @riki1! I'm glad I brought back some nice memories for you. We moved down to the coastal area 20 years ago, and yes, we love the Amanzimtoti area as well. We go there often👍!

Thanks for stopping by, I do appreciate it!