The Color of Nature in the Durban Botanic Gardens.

Last weekend we decided to visit the Durban Botanic Gardens. It is situated in the city of Durban, Kwazulu Natal, South Africa. According to Wikipedia... "It is Durban's oldest public institution and Africa's oldest surviving botanical gardens.[1] The gardens cover an area of 15 hectares (37 acres)[2] in a subtropical climate."

On Durban Botanic Garden's website, they quote Prof Donal McCracken as follows; ‘A botanic gardens may delight the eye and the aesthetic senses, satisfy idle curiosity and excite wonder, but the capacity to produce these reactions is of only secondary importance to its basic function: accumulating botanical and horticultural knowledge (research) and disseminating that knowledge (information and education).’

Well, the capacity to be a delight to the eye and aesthetic senses, might be of secondary importance only, but we surely enjoyed the colorful scenery. I would like to share some photos I took of some of the most colorful flowers.

Now don't get me wrong, I love nature and I love being outdoors, but I am no expert when it comes to the names of these flowers.

My daughter shared some interesting information with me though which I will also share with you later in this post.

Ahead of us, I saw quite a few people walking right past this without even taking notice...

DSC_8897.jpg


But I have to be honest... I was intrigued by the colors...

DSC_8896-2.jpg


Close to the center of the gardens, my wife and my daughter sat down on a bench to relax while our grandchildren were playing around.

I decided to carry on walking and get more photos.

I found this plant, kind of hidden among many other plants.

DSC_8900.jpg


Let's take a closer look...

DSC_8901.jpg


Sometimes, by just casually walking around, you tend to miss out on a lot of the beauty all around you.

But when you start paying a little more attention, you start noticing the beautiful colors all around you.

DSC_8902.jpg


We tend to look for the "big stuff", but sometimes you can find the beauty in the smallest detail all around you...

DSC_8903.jpg


Looking at it from a distance, it's just some small little yellow flowers. But when you come closer, you realize how the detail can create a nice photo...

DSC_8922.jpg


I liked the prominent white against the deep green in this scene...

DSC_8915.jpg


Let's take a closer look again.

DSC_8918.jpg


And talking about white...

Do you remember I told you about the interesting information my daughter shared with me?

When I got back to my family, I showed them the photos on my camera.

When my daughter saw this photo...

DSC_8946.jpg

...she said to me that it is said that these flowers don't always open up like this one. But when they do, you can know that it is going to rain within the next 24 hours.

Well... these flowers were wide open (as you can see in the photo) and believe me, we had good rain within 24 hours after we left the Durban Botanic Gardens...lol!

My daughter sent me this link if you want to know more information about this plant.

And with that, we come to the end of today's post.

Thank you for reading my post! I do appreciate it!

Sort:  

Wpw,these pictures are beautiful. I like every one of them.

Hi @balikis95! I'm glad you liked my photos and thank you for your feedback! I do appreciate it! I hope you are having a great weekend👍!

You are welcome 😊

@jacoalberts
Garden is full of totally peaceful environment but there is not any person. Is it far from populated areas. ?
I have seen these Flowers first time through this post. Only the purple and red flowers. Because these are also in our different parks.

Yes, it is a very peaceful environment indeed! There were actually quite a few people, but I have to admit, I tend to wait for moments when I can capture photos without people in them! Sometimes I have to be patient and wait, but I don't mind. I do think I might need to start taking some photos with people in them too as this is not the first time I heard someone making mention of this. I will make a point of capturing people in some of my photos in the future. Thanks for pointing that out to me, that's how we learn👍!

I'm glad I could show you some flowers that saw for the first time through my post! Thanks for mentioning that and for giving your feedback, @sahilkhan! I do appreciate it!

What a useful plant in the last photo. Is there a plant showing the end of the rain? ))

I only learned about this plant now... Maybe one day I will learn about one showing the end of the rain😅!

Thank you for stopping by! Have a great day!