Two Lighthouses on the East Coast of South Africa

Lighthouses are quite an attraction for many people...myself included.

A little background about the lighthouses in South Africa...

I found the following information on an information board at the Lighthouse, Bluff - Cooperhouse, in Durban.

Lighthouses and Navigation.

Most lighthouses have been founded on the skeletons of ships and sailors lost to the cruelty of a darkened coast. Since 1500 AD, more than 2000 vessels have been wrecked along the coast of South Africa, and yet it took years of negotiation to raise awareness and funding before each beacon of light was built. Lighthouses were often located in remote, inhospitable places making them difficult to install and maintain as well as lonely for lighthouse keepers and their families. Today, all 45 lighthouses are fully automated, and only 12 are still manned by lighthouse keepers. Many are now used as novel tourist accommodation. Each lighthouse has a characteristic flashing code and color design.

Lighthouse, Bluff - Cooper Lighthouse.

As mentioned above, I got the information about "Lighthouses and Navigation" on an information board at the lighthouse in Bluff.

I am still doing some research about the "Bluff Lighthouse". It seems to me that there are two lighthouses...one is known as the Bluff Lighthouse, and one is the "Lighthouse, Bluff - Cooper Lighthouse", which is the one I found and of which I will share some photos today.

DSC_8602-2.jpg



It looked like there was a little office on the premises, but everything was locked and we could only look at the lighthouse from the road.

DSC_8601-3.jpg


According to Google Maps, Bluff Lighthouse (not Cooper Lighthouse), is located right at the entrance to the harbor. It also shows a museum at the lighthouse, but it shows the route to the lighthouse as having restricted usage or private roads. I will see what I can learn about the Bluff Lighthouse...

Umhlanga Lighthouse.

Umhlanga Lighthouse is easily accessible and visible from a distance from different angles.

Over time, I have managed to get quite a variety of the Umhlanga Lighthouse.

Let's start with a view from a distance.

The first photo of the Umhlanga Lighthouse was from the northern end of Umhlanga, just below the Umhlanga Lagoon Nature Reserve. The structure you see in front of the lighthouse is the well-known Whalebone Pier.

DSC_8293-2.jpg


The next photo was taken during another visit just after the sun made its first appearance for the day. With the beach in the foreground, I took this photo just as the light of the lighthouse flashed in my direction...

DSC_2620.jpg


Another early morning photo on the same day shows some holiday accommodation in the form of the Oyster Box and Beverley Hills Hotels behind the lighthouse...catching another flash.

DSC_2626.jpg


The following photos were taken during yet another visit on a beautiful sunny day with some beautiful clouds to complete the picture...

Approaching the lighthouse from the main beach in Umhlanga, with the Whalebone pier in the foreground.

DSC_5850.jpg


I took this photo of the Umhlanga Lighthouse while standing on the Whalebone pier.

DSC_5772-3.jpg


Zooming in, some activity is visible in the area of the lighthouse.

DSC_5773-2.jpg


Walking up to the lighthouse...

DSC_5856-4.jpg


Getting nice and close...

DSC_5855-5.jpg



Looking at the lighthouse while standing on the beach.

DSC_5868-2.jpg



An information board at the bottom of the lighthouse display some interesting fact about the lighthouse.

DSC_5861.jpg


And with that, we come to the end of today's post, folks.

Thank you for reading my post. I do appreciate it!

Sort:  

You got some fantastic lighthouse photos, @jacoalberts! It's interesting to see lighthouses flash during the day! I'm not accustomed to that! Have a marvelous Tuesday! 😁🙏💚✨🤙

Thank you, @tydynrain! Those photos with the lighthouse flashing were taken just after sunrise. It stopped flashing shortly after I took those photos.

Enjoy the rest of your week👍!

You're very welcome, absolutely! Ah, OK! That makes sense! Thank you! Have a fantastic Friday and weekend! 😁🙏💚✨🤙

👋😉👍

😁🙏💚✨🤙
Black And White Stars GIF

Wow I love lighthouses! They're my fave topic on postcards that I receive. I've also climbed a few in the past. How I wish I visited more and climbed up more of them when I still can. Have you had a chance to see the inside of these? Hopefully you can share about it when you do. :D happy weekend!


Made in Canva

!ALIVE

- @iamraincrystal - Moderator/Alive Video Master
_
This post has been curated by the Alive And Thriving Team, we curate good content in the We Are Alive Tribe that is on topic for #aliveandthriving, and it's included in our daily curation report on @aliveandthriving, plus @youarealive is following our Curation Trail.

I am so glad to hear about your love for lighthouses, @iamraincrystal! Going inside and climbing them must have been an awesome experience!

Unfortunately, I haven't been able to go inside yet. But believe me, whenever I get that opportunity I will most definitely share the photos here with you!

Happy Tuesday to you, @jacoalberts! 😁🙏💚✨🤙



Made in Canva

- @tydynrain - Comment Moderator

@jacoalberts! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ aliveandthriving. (15/40)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Thank you for the token! I do appreciate it!

Amazing photos great place

Thank you! Have a great day!

@jacoalberts
It means it is not allowed to enter in the lighthouse. Because the shoots inside the lighthouse is not in the post. Anyway you are lucky that you enjoy this moment from near , because I see these type of lighthouse in just a video Game (GTA). Well approach.

That is correct yes. But we were still able to enjoy the time visiting these two lighthouses!

Thank you for stopping by! I do appreciate it!

There's something so intriguing about lighthouses. There always seem to tell fascinating stories! Especially the older ones.

That is so true what you are saying, @clairemobey! Thank you for stopping by and for sharing your thoughts! I do appreciate it!

Super! In your story, only a picture of the lighthouse from the sea is missing))

Yes, that is a super idea...a picture of the lighthouse from the sea!! That would be awesome! I am making a note of that idea! Thanks for that! I appreciate you stopping by, @avada!

Just be careful with the paddles))

Haha... I will! Thank you for the word of caution😅👍!

Waoh, I look at it from afar. Nice one.

Thank you, @oasiskp2! Have a great day!