Butcher Posed for Hive at Guindulman Public Market

butcher.png

In an early morning, my feet brought me to our town's local market, on a Sunday, this is packed with vendors and customers but since it is a Saturday, there's no crowd which was a good thing as I brought my camera with me.

Am I the only one who feels awkward with bringing a camera and taking photos in a public place? I know I shouldn't but I feel that way each time.

Anyway, my husband and baby were buying some food at the nearby restaurant so I took this chance to take photos of whatever I could spot in the wet market. The sun was just rising and its light was just striking into the building, highlighting certain areas which made everything interesting!

I always love moody photo edits thus, you'll find these photos with a little darker tone and a lot of noise too! I purposely added them to give it a little drama. I don't know if that even makes sense.

A7302633.JPG

I was about to enter the market from where we parked our car and these plants and flowers greeted me. I am glad the market has been freed from the interlink walls set up when COVID cases were spiking in our town, this ensures that the crowd would follow a one-way type of flow, one entrance, and one exit, I don't know if that helped with lowering the case though. From October, this has been taken out making it easier to move in and out of the market area.

I passed by the native stuff section and also spotted some vendors just preparing for their flower items. There were no customers around at that time yet.

A7302639.JPG

I immediately spotted these pork hocks hanging and I guess that's a pig's head behind them. I already imagined what I wanted to achieve as I was entering the meat section, I want some action, some vendors should surely be slicing up meat and I will take shots as they lift their knives or cleavers and hit the meat.

I also wanted some photos of the random people and those customers talking to the vendors and things like that. But since it was still early, I could literally count the number of people inside the meat section. That means, my presence is certainly obvious plus holding a camera, it means people will surely look at me with weird facial expressions, perhaps others might ask for a photo too!

A7302643.JPG

And I was correct! As soon as I made a few clicks, although my camera has a silent shooting feature and I was not even using the viewfinder, they still noticed me. So this meat vendor was just slicing up some meat but decided to stop and pose for the camera. I had my mask on but it was obvious that I was laughing as he asked for more shots.

A7302645.JPG

Can you see the rest of the blurred people behind him look at me like they wanted to also be photographed? Or perhaps they were just supporting this fellow as he shows off his meat products.

After a few clicks, I gave him a thumbs-up as a sign that I was done taking his photograph. Everyone was cheering on him and he laughed the Guindulmanon way! He even asked if I would be publishing it somewhere and I answered:

it's for Hive!

I am not sure if he heard me as he continued chopping up the meat infront of him. I moved on and took more snaps of the surrounding.

A7302655.JPG

A7302653.JPG

A7302656.JPG

A7302650.JPG

The sun's rays peaked into the market, giving light to some parts of it. I find it nice so I captured those which were highlighted by Mr. Sun. As I pointed the camera to the fish section, there were flares produced by the lens as the sun's light hits it.

I called it done as I remembered my husband and baby, they might be looking for me already. So I exited and found myself in front of a flower shop. They had flowers displayed outside the shop but they got more inside too!

A7302661.JPG

I found the market's drainage is being fixed! That's great, but hopefully, they'd be able to finish that before the rainy season. There's a huge hole in this part of the road and it's dangerous!

A7302663.JPG

Guindulman is a coastal town and the market is just next to the sea so I spotted some fishermen out there and I took the chance to get their photos too! They were standing which means they are already taking their catch out of the nets. This scene reminds me of my late grandfather who was a fisherman. He stopped fishing at age 75, he died at the age of 97.

A7302670.JPG

After a while, the sun was covered by the clouds and the mood changed from a gold one brought by the sun to a gloomy blue one for it was about to rain. The weather changed immediately but I am glad that I had finished my photo opportunity. It's nice to take snaps of random things in the market, I am sure I will do this again in the future!

And as I return to where I left my husband and child, I called their attention. Matti immediately looked behind to see me and asked that I carry him. This baby is just so clingy!

It's time to go home!


All images were taken using a Sony a7iii and an FE 85mm F1.8



jeanjean.png

J U N E B R I D E
Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art
• • •


Sort:  

sana all kaaug photography

ghahahaha salamat sir...

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

You're a great photographer. Nice pictures.

i appreciate it dear... i am just a hobbist

Such an awesome variety of shots here. I love seeing street photography from other countries that really showcase the culture. Great job.

thank you!I appreciate it dear!

Such a wonderful walk post, I love the mood and noise of the shots in the market, you achieved what you were aiming for
Love all you shared, lets hope the drainage is fixed before the rains come and how cool of the butcher to pose for you

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

i do hope so that the drainage is done now as it has been raining here in our place for some days already... haven't visited the market this week yet

Let’s hope when you make it to the market it’s all fixed and no flooding