Sundog

in Photography Lovers3 months ago

Hello Hivers
Recently while skiing I saw a sundog. They are also known as parhelion. The picture below was not edited in any way, that is how it looked in person, the second one was edited a little.

Sundog1.jpg
They are caused by ice crystals in the atmosphere that refract the light.

Sundog 2.jpg
Throughout history scholars, and writers have mentioned sundogs, from Aristotle, Seneca and Shakespeare.

Thanks for viewing the sundog with me.

HiveDivider.png

Sort:  

A rare occurrence. I managed to observe him several times.

I have seen it once, I didn't know it had that name "sundog", it seems to me an unusual phenomenon for this humid tropical climate, although here it looks more like two suns and not a perfect halo.

I've never seen a full sundog like that!! Only little rings, or fragmented parts of the circle. Amazing.

That’s the best one I have ever seen.. amazing..

Congratulations @karbon! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 25000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 26000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP