Early-April monochromes!

I hope everyone had a good weekend! I’m writing this in bed. The house is empty. @vermillionfox is visiting a friend in Chicago and @guthrie is over his brother’s. The peace and quiet is so very welcomed right now. I love their company, but I’ve always enjoyed my time alone. I’m currently downloading Resident Evil 4 [Remake] on my SteamDeck and while I watch the 56GB progress bar whittle down, I decided this would be a great time to write a Hive post since it’s been a few days. I’m going to be leaving for LA and Vegas in a few weeks so revisiting some of tonight’s photos will mentally and creatively prepare me for the this upcoming journey.

I do these monochrome posts one or twice a month. It’s an opportunity for me to revisit some of my favorite color photos and fall in love with them all over again as black and white images. This first shot is from Pasadena, CA. The client creates and sells Wiccan teas and herbal remedies. This was part of an advertising and marketing campaign and we shot throughout the Clark Gable estate. Many of the photos were indoors but this shot was outside in the garden. Flowers were in bloom, and although they were beautiful in color, the contrast in this new black and white is striking in its own way.

This next shot was also taken in Pasadena, but at City Hall. It’s a beautiful area. Spanish inspired architecture, fountains; absolutely stunning. I’d shot several times with this client over the years but this was my favorite of our collaborations. The hair, make-up and wardrobe was dramatic and we shot at dusk. The low light created a timeless film noir look that still stands out as some of my best on-location outdoor work. This shot is a time capsule of a very chaotic chapter of my career. It don’t remember much from these years but images like this established me as a name in the LA pinup scene.

This last portrait is of a model named Bettie. She participated in a photography event I held in 2015 in Los Angeles. This was taken downtown at a historic hotel that used to host the easiest Academy Awards in the early 1900’s. One of the things I love most about this photo is it’s vulnerability and softness. Most of my dark pinup shots are very posed. This was a natural moment of movement that I was able to capture while she adjusted her wardrobe. It’s rich in color in the original, but I find this to be one of the most effective monochromes I’ve taken in my career.

Sort:  

I really love image two, just feels super classy.

Thank you, @galenkp! Yeah. That second one is really striking. I agree.

I know nothing about cosmetics, but the make up application by all your models is always on point. You've done well to accentuate these elements in your compositions by bringing it down to a monochrome world.

@holoz0r I've been really fortunate to work with professional hair and make-up people throughout my career. Thanks for the comment!

They definitely take the work to another level!

These really are absolutely superb as black and whites. Classy. Emotional. Really fantastic.

Thank you, @wwwiebe! I always strive to evoke emotion.

Some very surprising photos, for the hairstyle, the model's clothes and especially the monochrome of the images, it seems that the photos were taken many years ago.

@jotaunive, thank you! That's what I love about black and white images. They come across as timeless, especially when you're working with the vintage theme, 1940's and 50's hair, make-up and wardrobe.

The photos that convey that feeling are very good.