Art therapy featuring new dark pinup photography!

Almost 3:00a.m. Really not a good time to be writing but in some ways, Hive is my only job right now. From Black Friday on, photography is pretty much a dead zone for bookings. It’s always been that way. Add the disruption associated with Instagram transitioning to Reels only for algorithm visibility, and it’s kind of a perfect storm of awful things for my career. @vermillionfox has really stepped up and landed a new job but it isn’t enough for all of our bills. I’m going to have to put something together soon but while that’s in the works, blogging and sharing new work here is kind of my nightly therapy session.

I spent a few hours at @caffetto tonight and while I was there, I was able to get to some images from recent shoots. This first shot was actually taken at @caffetto in the basement. The model’s name is Ashley Bad and she was visiting Minneapolis during the Rubberball. It’s a big fetish/latex fashion event and she came with Angela Ryan […whom you’ll be introduced to shortly]. It was very last minute but I was thrilled to shoot with Ashley. She had a great look and @caffetto is always available to me on short notice and the arcade offers interesting light situations. Really happy with this first edit.

Angela Ryan is a friend that I made through Instagram about 10 years ago. She’s a well known name in the fetish fashion scene and curates and edits for Sinical magazine. We’ve always talked about shooting and this was the year it finally manifested. She was also in the Twin Cities for Rubberball with Ashley. We started at @caffetto and I do have photos with the pinball machines, but immediately after we made our way to my house and here is where we shot this moody Blade Runner-esk Victorian dark pinup shot in the living room. One of the first that jumped out for me from that series of images.

Lastly, this shot is of my good friend Kitty Crystal whom I love and adore. We became friends in 2018 when I was traveling and shooting in New York City. The final chapter of the book I did with @wcpublishing needed a half dozen shoots to complete the collection and Kitty made it a priority to meet with me for those pictures. She moved to LA shortly there after and this was our first time seeing each other and collaborating on the west coast in her new home. It was good for my heart after the distance and opportunities lost during COVID.

Sort:  

The game machine caught my attention the most in the photo. You have done a quality work

Beautiful shots, @kommienezuspadt. Sorry for the bumpy financial road. Those times are never fun! I hope you figure things out soon!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @steemadi ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I love the lighting on the last photo. It turns out really great. Loved it!