Hidden gems w/ Jenni!

Hey, Hive! How’s it going? It’s about 1:30a.m. I’ve had a long day hanging out with @guthrie and now that he’s asleep, I was able to get some editing done for a late night blog post. The window is rapidly closing as I can feel my eyes already getting heavy. I managed to get one blog on the blockchain this past week and was trying to make a commitment to being consistent again. I’m finally emerging to a place where I have some consistency in my life. Not much, but enough that I’m slowly but surely starting to find a routine. Hive is one of the most therapeutic things I do for myself so I want to stay on top of it.

I decided to revisit a shoot from October of last year. It occurred to me that I still had some outstanding edits from a friend of mine and with the holidays approaching, she wanted to order prints for her husband. I’ve known Jenni since 2014 so we’re coming up on ten years of friendship. I used to host an event in LA, New York and Minneapolis called NOIR. It was all black and white photography done in the style of Old Hollywood glamour. Jenni was one of many friends I made during that first event on the west coast and I’ve remained close with her and her family since.

Last fall, I was coming up to make up some shoots that were delayed during COVID. Jenni contacted me last minute asking if I could fit her in for a dark pinup session and I did have one day that I could meet with her in the morning. We made plans and after an exhausting trip, I drove straight from San Diego to Lola Lima and relaxed while we caught up. Once we started shooting, everything moved smoothly as she’s familiar with my style of photography and direction. We managed to wrap in 90 minutes and I took home an SD card of 600 new images.

This was a great session to look through again after some time away. That’s one of my favorite things about my job. It’s like rediscovering diamonds in the rough that you may have looked over the first time or two. I’ll always love Jenni’s patience with my process, especially with my life being so in flux over the last year. Hopefully worth the wait. Tomorrow, @guthrie an I will be going to @caffetto together while I try and catch up on illustration that I’ll have due for a client at a meeting Monday afternoon. Have a good night! Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

It's one of those amazing shots, you did some really good editing. 😊

Nice shooting

Congratulations @kommienezuspadt! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 102000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 104000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP