Punk pinup!

What’s up, Hive! First post of the week, but I’ve gotten something on the blog in the last seven days so that feels good. I’m still struggling through one of the hardest times of my life. Life, career, relationships [ending] and an abundance of existential dread as a careen through my mid forties. @tarotbyfergus did a reading for me months ago that ended with The Hermit. What an awful path that is to walk, but I’m hoping for a better version of myself once I’m through it. Despite the mope, I had a productive day at @caffetto and finally replaced the charging port on @guthrie’s electric scooter. Very proud of myself for that.

While at @caffetto, I did get some editing done. During Viva Las Vegas in April, I shot with a beautiful pinup model and Vegas native named Chelsea. She goes by, “The Punk Pinup”, in the scene. As her name implies, she’s a huge fan of punk and metal music. Our session was approaching and plans kept changing due to circumstances beyond my control. My first location fell though, then my make-up artist cancelled. When the day of our shoot came, she met at my hotel near The Strip and was came hair and make-up ready from a previous shoot that day. It all works out.

I managed to come up with some interesting scenarios to play with light as the sun began to set. One photos I’m particularly happy with involved a dusk backdrop accompanied with lamps available in the condo. That warm and cool contrast is something I strive for in most of my shoots, but this was an extraordinary example of the harmony of those approaches to lighting. Chelsea was an exceptional model. I gave her direction as we brainstormed about interesting ways to arrange pillows in the room while experimenting with unique posing. She was down for anything and we delivered.

I have one more set of edits to finish with Chelsea so there will be more to come. Even though I’m pushing through a difficult time in my life, I’m finally getting back to a place that I can sit at @caffetto and edit several shoots for hours, uninterrupted. It’s feeling good to get caught back up while trying to get the other areas of my life out of a tailspin. This has been a transformative year. I’m hoping I’m resilient enough to emerge from this time better than I was, more independent and optimistic about the future. Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Beautiful photos, don't get discouraged and always think positive

Trying, @trade60. Doing what I can. Thanks for the encouragement.

It's good to be optimistic about the future. That will make whatever little good comes even more valuable.

We sure can keep focusing on the little things and the big ones will take care of themselves along the line.

Great shots and Chelsea looks so pretty. Have a nice day

Thank you, @mviews. Yeah. @tarotbyfergus made it very clear months ago that I was going into my Hermit era and that couldn't be more true. I'm living in it and experiencing it right now, even though it sucks. I know it's part of a long process. Thanks for the comment on the photos as well.

I've been reading about a lot of people on Hive who are going through some pretty intense personal stuff right now. It seems like there is a lot of upheaval everywhere. I am sorry for that. I hope this path ends up leading you to something amazing.

Actually, yeah. I noticed that as well, @bozz. Comparatively, my situation isn't near as serious. @vermillionfox and I broke up, and six weeks later, I broke up with another girl that I was in love with, so it's just the totality of both relationships ending with such close proximity. That, and career stuff, the bear market. All of it. Thanks for the encouragement.

I'm sorry to hear that. I know things like that can be rough. Most of my relationships have been 4+ years, so when they ended it was always a gut punch even if it was for the right reasons. Good luck with everything! Hopefully this bear won't be around much longer!

Inlove with your work @kommienezuspadt, let that motivate you day by day, you're great! That contrast of warm and cold that you get in the photos is extraordinary. Cheers🍻!!!

Thanks, @vero10h! Yeah. That's the atmosphere I always try to achieve.

I congratulate you all your photographs are really wonderful, I would not know how to choose my favorite because they all have the magic that makes them unique and special photographs, without a doubt you have a great talent that goes hand in hand with your vocation.
In the past, my sentimental life took me to the edge of the abyss, it was inevitable to fall and hit the bottom. At that moment I understood that it is healthy to grieve, you have to cry all that is necessary so that the pain goes away and we can overcome the disappointment. Sometimes life tests us and our worst enemy appears, which is fear, it is the one that paralyzes us and depresses us, we come to feel that we do not have the tools to heal. I think the secret is to be patient with the certainty that little by little the chaos will disappear and peace will come, having an optimistic attitude moves away the gray cloud faster. Never forget that we can always transform our present into the reality we want to live, the change is in our hands.
I wish you the best, thank you very much for sharing your beautiful photos and being a source of inspiration.
A hug! @kommienezuspadt